We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but very sweet stay”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #20 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stayed in Room 4 for one night only at De Opstal in Oudtshoorn and it was lovely. It's an oasis in the semi desert. The accommodation has about 20 rooms but not even half were filled when we stayed. The checkin was easy and were greeted when we parked and a porter took our bags to the room. The rooms have no Tv and there is no wifi, this was rather nice to not have communication for a night and enjoy the company who you are with.

Rooms are huge and clean, nothing to fault at all.
Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and they do made to order eggs etc.
Diner was a braai which there was plenty of choice.
All the staff are wonderful and polite.

Very relaxing and quiet! Worth staying 2 nights

Room Tip: All rooms are situated in the gardens as Oudtshoorn is a semi desert, it's rather refreshing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VFarrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2016

Charmingly restored and decorated old farm buildings surrounded by a garden.
Spacious room with a metal fireplace, piano and books in the corridor. Coffee making facilities in the small shady patio. Huge bathroom with shower, jacuzzi, bathrobes and separate toilet.
In some of the rooms the safety box didn't work, neither wi-fi.
Nice buffet breakfast and dinner in the restaurant from regional produce.
The atmosphere at the reception when checking out was hurried and for some reason a bit irritated.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thearcticexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We spent one night here en route to Cape Town from Port Elizabeth. The welcome was warm. The furnishing was authentic and certainly not standard hotel stuff: it is a family-run concern. The extensive gardens and the pool were attractive. The food was home-cooked and excellent in quality and choice. On such a journey as ours it was ideal for a night's stay, and if circumstances had dictated longer we should have been content.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We stayed here for one night specifically to see the ostriches. We drove from Wilderness, so a short drive through the mountains on a very quiet Sunday morning.
De Opstal is out of the town towards the caves. It is on a very quiet road.
There was a friendly greeting when we arrived. We were early for check in, but the room was available so we were taken there. A pot of tea was also bought to us.
The room itself was amazing. They can all be seen online, but the photos don't do them justice. The room was huge, ours had two beds so suitable for a family.
The bed was very comfortable, bedding and towels good quality. There was a very large bathroom with separate bath, shower and toilet. Plenty of hot water and lovely toiletries.
We had a verandah with two rocking chairs as well.
The wifi in the room was good.
Outside the gardens are lush and beautifully planted attracting many birds.
There is a pool area with loungers and towels. We sat there is the afternoon soaking up the sun, having a dip and revelling in the beauty and peace of the landscape.
De Opstal offer dinner as well so we opted for that as we were only staying one night.
We were given a menu, fixed price, and we decided what we were going to eat before we went to dinner.
However, when we got there it was a buffet dinner and you could have everything on the menu! It was fantastic....ostrich pate to start then ostrch steaks, bobotie, chicken kebabs and so much more.all beautifully cooked by a lady who has been there for twenty two years we were told.
Dessert was fresh strawberries and apple crumble! Just wonderful.
We ate too much, but it was do nice being able to try the different dishes cooked with local produce.
Much of the fruit and veg is grown in the fields by De Opstal so it doesn't travel far!
Breakfast was equally good with hot food cooked order, plenty of choice with cold food and glorious platters of fresh fruit.
Service at both meals was excellent and the owners and staff are delightful!
We visited the ostrch farm just along the road which was also great fun.
We were also directed to the best place to buy ostrich goods ... also very good....so a brilliant one night stay!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

This converted farm is a bit country style, dark furniture, plastic armchairs,but a spacious room with all normal facilities. The restaurant was closed the first night but a mini bus from a restaurant took us and brought as back so we did not have to drive. The breakfast was good and service willing. The dinner we had was a buffet and not very hot. There is not a lot of note to do but the caves are worth the visit.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MandS60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
10.6 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
10.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
20.2 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
3.1 km away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
19.3 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: ₹ 7,036 - ₹ 9,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing