We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and Fun”

Highgate Ostrich Show Farm
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Incubators, baby chicks, ostrich rides and feather crafts are among the attractions at this family-friendly farm.
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were 5 adults and had a great gourmet meal focused on ostrich, followed by an extremely interesting tour and then some in the group rode ostriches. The guide was excellent and the riding was a huge laugh. A well put together visit and very worthwhile

2  Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B, Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for the great review ! We value all feedback and are extremely grateful for every review especially if we added value to your visit to our beautiful country ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 425 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I recently visited the show farm with my European girlfriend, the service was great, the staff were friendly and funny, the overall show and sights were very good and well presented, and left an indelible impression on us. I would highly recommend them as a great tour operator and well worth visiting.

2  Thank WaynePokey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B, Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Fantastic !! I'm so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit at Highgate ! We truly appreciate your compliment. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I am surprised that this stop at Highgate was one of the best experiences we had in a month in SA (2 adults and 2 teens). We had a private tour with Corrie who was absolutely fantastic and obviously has a great love for his job and the ostriches - he was a gem. We saw everything - held the babies, rode the big guys, stood on the eggs, watched a race and then enjoyed a tasting menu of Ostrich inspired foods that was out of this world delicious.
Truly a wonderful 2 hours on a warm morning - highly recommend this farm.

2  Thank Sabcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B, Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We have no greater purpose but to ensure that every guest enjoys their visit to Highgate. However, to be considered as a South African highlight makes us humble but also exceptionally proud ! We are so pleased that we could add value to your visit to our beautiful country. We wish you all the best and your compliment is greatly appreciated ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Go there if you are in the area, you won't regret it
Our guide Korrie was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about ostriches, I think if we had more time he could talk for another 2 hours :), but everything was very interesting
Unfortunately it was very hot that day and the ostrich race was canceled but we managed to get on the ostrich and take some pictures ,
The shop was big but i think the belt's choice could be better, I couldn't find what I like
And something else- we planned to have our late lunch after the tour just to find out that the restaurant is close, if we knew that it'll be close at 5 we'd had ordered something before
But anyway, despite +40 we enjoyed our trip and highly recommend it
Happy New Year to all of you at Highgate Farm!

2  Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B, Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Fantastic and valuable feedback ! Thank you for taking the time to assist us in improving our service to you, our valued client. I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed your tour albeit not the most favourable conditions. We will stock-up on those belts ! :-) Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Highgate Ostrich Farm was just a great experience and highly recommended. We went with a 9, 11, 17 year old plus a Granny and a Grandpa. Started with a very good lunch at the restaurant. Ben, the guide, was outstanding. He was professional, knew his topic and answered the vast number of questions without fail and with humour. We all learned a great deal about Ostriches, which is why we were there. The whole place looked well run and the staff were very professional and helpful. Thank you for a great day.

2  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B, Manager at Highgate Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Alison. Thank you for your positive review ! We value our clients feedback and I know Ben will also be delighted to learn that you enjoyed the tour ! He is always so passionate about sharing his knowledge with our guests. We look forward to welcome you back to Highgate ! Kind regards. Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highgate Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Highgate Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing