We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirtiest Beddings with Old Equipped Bathroom, Pantry” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowwood Lodge
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dirtiest Beddings with Old Equipped Bathroom, Pantry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had a separated room from the house called "guest room". It's a family unit. When we arrived, the owner showed us the room and told us not to leave the room without the key, otherwise it will be locked. And we did not see him again until the breakfast.

I did not sleep well and felt itchy, so I took off the pillow case and what I saw shocked me and my family. The pillows were so dirty! The photos taken showed the 2 worse pillows we slept on, the others were "white" with stains. The pantry area, cups, coffee etc were very old and did not look appetite to use or to be consumed. The bathroom bath gel and shampoo had wierd colour. So we ended up buying the items we need and did not touch anything in the room.

Actually we had a clue when we booked before our trip started. The B&B website asked for 50% deposit, when we provide the credit card details, we were charged full amount. Then we started reading the review from trip advisor, but it was too late!!! We were thinking it should be OK for only 1 night, so we did not ask for any clarification.

Actually the old, outdated room we still could bear with it, but the hygiene that is reflected in the quality of the pillow..... that was too much!!!!

we like best - the knysna lagoon itself
we like least - how the B&B like this can be so unhygiene and inconsiderate of the guests

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koelnsperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

Yellowwood Lodge is a place very much at the heart of knysna. It was close enough for us to allow our older kidz to go about and do their own thing whilst at the same time us having peace of mind that they were safe. We were minutes from the beach and had the best climate possible. We enjoyed the lagoon and ocean very much and the B&B was truly close to everything. The breakfasts on the verandah were beautiful and the views spectacular. It was a place we all enjoyed. We found adventure, fun and relaxation with the kidz all in one. Truly a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldsonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

We enjoyed two nights here. Ernest was charming and made us most welcome. Our room had delightful views across Knysna Lagoon. Very central to walk into Knysna. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

Yellowwood Lodge is pleasant enough, but very much has the atmosphere of a 70s B&B in Blackpool or Torquay. The reception we had was friendly enough and the rooms were reasonably comfortable, but the accommodation felt quite dated and was not somewhere to spend too much time. Particularly off-putting was the ancient combination gas boiler in the bathroom, which seemed to supply the hot water for the bath and shower.

The town centre and the quays are within easy walking distance and indeed Knysna is pretty safe such that a walk to the quays is a realistic proposition.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but like most other things here perfectly adequate.

Not a highlight of our stay, but equally nothing intrinsically wrong.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Very dated decor and furnishings
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW19Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2008

we have often gone to south africa to visit family, and visiting knysna is our little treat. we love the lagoon and the vibrant vibe of the town. Yellowwood lodge has been our usual spot. the comfort of having a place walking distance from town and with such a loving family running the place simply does it for us. we have enjoyed our time at the pool and on the veranda overlooking the most gorgeous view of the town and lagoon. the rooms are spacious and delightful.so far we have never stayed in the same room and can tell you that each one is different, with its own little charm. we are looking forward to our next visit this april. thanx anna and ernest for making our holidays that much more enjoyable

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank suefernandez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 km away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#15 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.6 km away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#13 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.0 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowwood Lodge

Property: Yellowwood Lodge
Address: 18 Handel Street | PO Box 2020, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,127 - ₹ 6,747
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowwood Lodge is an exclusive accommodation establishment in Knysna in the heart of South Africa’s world famous Garden Route. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowwood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing