We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
247
118
35
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
118
35
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ile de pain thesen island breakfast vouchers harbour town self catering huge balcony underfloor heating garden route our room was spacious restaurants and shops we loved our stay the ground floor small pool great room enjoyable stay longer stay oysters
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2015

All was very nice, clean and friendly! The rooms we stayed in should be refurnished, things have started to look a bit worn down....

...................................................................

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 April 2015

Dear AnnaH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts.
I'm really happy that you were happy with the hotel.

Please do let us know which room you stayed in as we will then have a look at what exactly needs to be refurnished.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

We spent just one night at The Lofts (in the tower room #1) and were more than happy with the marvellous location right on the water with extensive views, everything we needed being provided (except for fresh milk for our tea - sachets of UHT stuff are not really nice), spaciousness and being a walkable distance to the restaurants over the causeway bridge.
Genuinely friendly staff (not just a trained facade) and as an extra treat your breakfast is taken at the next door famous Ile De Pain - where else should one stay in Knysna?

Date of stay: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherinedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear Katherinedawn,

You wrote such a beautiful review for The Lofts and we are very grateful for this.

We do apologise for the UHT milk but it is very difficult to keep the right amount of fresh milk without having it waste or go-off before being drunk. On your next visit do send us an email ahead of time and we will happily provide you with fresh milk.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

The architect who converted this old boathouse into a hotel, had amazing vision and talent. All the comforts you could wish for have been thought of. The style and use of space and fittings are not what you would usually find in South Africa. The hotel is right on the water, on Thessen Islands in Knysna, you can almost touch the water while having a drink on the pool deck or in the bar. They have an honesty bar, which is a rare find and really refreshing. The rooms are spacious, light, modern with extremely comfortable beds and pillows. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen boasting all the modern appliances and comforts. They have tea/coffee in the rooms, but it's also available all day, free of charge, in the bar. My nephew needed a lift to a night club and back and the receptionist,Ted, kindly offered to ferry him back and forth. Nothing seems too much for the staff at this hotel. We had booked for 1 night only but extended our stay for another night. My only negative comment is that the shower had no pressure in our room.

Room tip: There are a couple of double rooms with views over the lagoon, and the sunsets are worth waiting for!
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaureenE374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear Maureen E,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of The Lofts.

It was a treat having you and your family here. Ted always goes above and beyond for guests.

We hope to welcome you back to The Lofts soon.

Kind Regards,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

After a few hectic weeks my wife and I decided on a long weekend break in Knysna. A short "Trip Advisor" search led to us staying in "The Lofts Boutique Hotel" on Thesens Island. Reception was fine and registering no hassle. We stayed in Loft Room 8c and were a little surprised by the lack of view from our windows. The room was however relatively large with a well appointed bathroom. Free Wi-Fi was advertised but the signal was so weak making it pointless to read emails. The room is in need of a handyman to fix the hanging of cupboard doors and the door to the wc. TV relatively small but reception ok. Breakfast at the restaurant (by voucher) joining the hotel was excellent. Assistance by staff regarding excursions was outstanding. The hotel is situated in a wonderful area and walking to the waterfront, shops, restaurants a scenic pleasure. We enjoyed our stay but thought that a little attention to detail could have made this a very relaxing break.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bernhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear Bernhard T,

Thank you for writing a review for The Lofts.

Thank you for mentioning the wifi signal being low on that room as I will have our internet service provider look into this. We have already had our handyman fix the cupboard door and they are now hanging perfectly straight.

It is unfortunate that the rectangular building only has the short side directly on the edge of the lagoon as we would have loved to give all rooms & guests full views of the lagoon.

We hope you and your wife will give us the opportunity to impress you on your next trip to Knysna. For the full view of the lagoon I would suggest booking one of the lagoon suites as they are absolutely divine and there is nothing better than taking that relaxing break while lying in bed and watching the sunset.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We chose the self catering option with a lovely 2 bedroom place. Staff were happy and friendly and the location was perfect. The room was clean and serviced well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had great breakfasts and fantastic coffee downstairs and ate at the restaurants in the evenings a close walk away

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear Kevin M,

Wow, thank you for writing such a nice review for The Lofts.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews