We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 125
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
US$ 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$ 53
US$ 46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

aha The Rex Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The St. James of Knysna(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 151
US$ 146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Under Milkwood Chalets(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$ 105
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orange Inn Knysna(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$ 59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Knysna Log-Inn Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$ 85
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
233
117
35
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
117
35
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsile de painthesen islandbreakfast vouchersharbour townself cateringbreakfast is servedhuge balconyunderfloor heatingour room was spaciousgarden routerestaurants and shopsthe ground floorenjoyable staywe loved our staystayed nightsamazing viewsour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We chose the self catering option with a lovely 2 bedroom place. Staff were happy and friendly and the location was perfect. The room was clean and serviced well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had great breakfasts and fantastic coffee downstairs and ate at the restaurants in the evenings a close walk away

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear Kevin M,

Wow, thank you for writing such a nice review for The Lofts.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We have booked and paid online for three days a suite in the Lofts at Thesen Island,arrived in the end of the day after a 500kms drive from Cape Town.
The suite is facing the waterfront in Tower 2.
One immediate problem is that there was a permanent smell of toilet/sewage in the suite,we had this for four days.
Of course the picture online show a much bigger suite that the real place.
Terrible TV picture,bed made up in a hurry.
The Lofts does not have resto/lounge facility,so breakfast work with a coupon (180R for two)that you get at the reception and you can choice three different places for your breakfast,the nearest is Ile de Pain,nice,but queuing outside under rain is not our favorite thing.
Parking small but undercover if you come early at the evening.
Reception staff responsive and friendly

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank world1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear world1951,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for The Lofts.

I can just imagine how unpleasant the smell in your room must have been. Did you report it to the reception? I am very sure that our maintenance team would have wanted to know if something like this was happening as it could have been a serious plumbing issue. As they say, when there's smoke there is fire or in this case where there is a sewage smell there could be a plumbing problem.

We are aware of the television issue in this room and we have had a wonderful team of professionals look into this to resolve the issue. We are holding thumbs that it will be sorted soon.

We are really glad that you were happy with our team at the reception as they are the face of The Lofts.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We had booked to stay for 4 nights at the Lofts Boutique Hotel. Its set in a beautiful location on Thesen Island and our room was magnificent - so large with every creature comfort. Unfortunately the Lofts is built with corrugated iron roofs and is integrated with several shops and a very busy early morning cafe. The problem is twofold - firstly when it rains it is very noisy and secondly you get a lot of early morning traffic to the cafe and shops. Not a place for the light sleeper as unfortunately it rains a lot in Knysna. We had to cancel our fourth night and go elsewhere. Not a very helpful owner who despite having paid all monies up front wouldn't consider any form of refund.
















  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maurice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear Maurice O,

Thank you for writing your review for The Lofts.

We really do apologise that you had such a terrible experience with the noise from the rain at The Lofts. We are working on sorting this out as well as speaking to the people at the cafe below who set up early and make a noise.

I know there was a different room available for you to move to but it seems that you were quite addament to check out. The hotel has policies and we have to work by these, this is why we could not refund your money. You will find this at all hotels and hotel groups.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

I guess we are partial, but we see no reason to overpay for a made-for-tourist neighborhood, a funky/post-industrial design, no views (just one over the parking lot). We paid 40% more there than at the Cinnamon Lodge in Wilderness (40 kms away), and did not even get breakfast. Limited service.

I guess we prefer real neighborhood, with real comfort, not jazzy architectural design that confuses the eyes in order to hide the fact that this was meant to be a boatshed and not an hotel.

At least provide breakfast at that price!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom apartment 3A and we did not like it. Feels claustrophobic, with a view on the ugly parking. I was betting for some view of the lagoon, but forget it.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear Blirola,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for The Lofts.

It is a good thing that people have different tastes. If everyone had to enjoy the same thing the world would be a boring place.

From your review I gather that you had booked a self-catering unit and as per normal standards self-catering does not include meals to be provided. If this was expected we would have happily suggested that you book into one of our loft rooms which has a partail view of the lagoon and a lovely large balcony or even spend a little more money and book the lagoon suite which has full views of the lagoon.

The Lofts also has several open areas where guests are welcome to sit and read, relax and enjoy the view from. Sitting in the lounge is very peaceful and enjoying the view from there one might even forget that you are in a made-for-tourist neighborhood, a funky/post-industrial design building.

There are several neighborhood guest houses in Knysna which would most likely be something you would prefer more but thank you for at least visiting The Lofts.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Anyone wishing a pleasant place to stay in Knysna in easy walking distance of numerous good restaurants and in a central location for Knysna and the surrounding area, need look no further. Very pleasant and helpful staff headed by the manager Carla who goes the extra mile to help with any problems or assistance required , a couple of rooms have good lagoon views, others very limited .Ideal short stay, though we stayed a month quite happily. There can be a bit of noise from delivery vehicles and visitor noise in rooms over the reception area on occasions.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2015

Dear James F,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for The Lofts.

It was wonderful having you, your wife and your friends stay with us for a month. You guys were lovely guests and we loved your honesty and the constructive notes that you had made.

We believe that we cannot improve unless we are informed of our short comings and therefore appreciate the comments made. We will work on the sound from the delivery trucks.

Have a wonderful day,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews