We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omnipotent Splendour”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for 5nights in room 5 which only has a tiny bit of a sea view but it makes up for that in every other way. The staff are all fantastic and treat you like part of the family ensuring you have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Sat for 5 days watching whales do their thing from the patio with sun loungers looking directly out to sea. The food was great a little too fussy sometimes but that is down to personal likes and dislikes. Loved the Hemingway Daiquiri and wine selection. I said when I arrived" I think I have died and gone to heaven". Strangely enough I heard that same sentence several times by other guests. I wouldn't contemplate going anywhere else in Hermanus and sorry to say but I will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is just wonderful, it has the real Wow factor when you walk through the door. The staff are excellent from the minute you arrive and wave goodbye when you leave. Nothing is too much trouble. The room and decor are fantastic. The views incredible, you can even watch the whales swimming past from the verandah, where you can eat breakfast, watch the sun go down and enjoy the sun and views all day long. I wish we had stayed longer. It is incredible. The food is brilliant too, breakfast is delicious and dinner lovely too, with a different menu each night.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We enjoyed our stayed at Birkenhead House so much that we hardly left the hotel! Our room was SO beautiful – both the interior and the balcony overlooking the ocean. The food, service and general ambience are just PURE luxury. The spa was also great! On our one big adventure from the hotel – a hike along the oceanfront trail into the town – we saw DOZENS of whales just off the beach!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank addsbuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I have found my paradise on earth. Birkenhead House is truly an amazing boutique hotel to stay. With only 11 rooms and all styled in a unique way around different themes, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you will feel incredibly special.
I recommend the full board option if you are staying here, there is nothing that isn't included. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner all exceptional and the location of the infinity pool will have you wishing you'd booked more nights. We sat and watched wales only 100m from shore with a morning mimosa. Something we will never forget.
A very romantic and memorable stay as part of our honeymoon indeed. I can't wait to return one day to this heaven hotel in Hermanus!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

The best hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel is small and on arrival at the front door looks unimpressive, however one step inside and it becomes an enchanting experience. The decor is stylish and beautiful yet completely comfortable and luxurious. The welcome is warm and genuinely friendly, the managers personable and full of interesting chat. The food is heavenly and the wine marvellous. All the staff are smiling and helpful. It is impossible to over emphasise the quality of this hotel. Throw in the utterly breathtaking views of the ocean with the whales swimming by and you have perfection. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.4 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
740 reviews
3.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
4.4 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.9 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 33,389 - ₹ 72,738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing