We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak around”

Dutton's Cove Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 130 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dramatically situated, overlooking a sweep of pristine beach and rocky outcrops, Duttons Cove offers unparalled privacy and tranquility. The terrace areas extend from the restaurant and bar, offering magnificent views and sunsets over the bay.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely a must stop when driving through Heroldsbay. Nevermind the beautiful setting, for a fussy steak eater like myself, the nicely matured sirloin was without a doubt one of the best I have had in the Garden Route. The ribs were are so spectacular and fell of the bone, the staff were friendly, attentive and accommodated our "needy" group. Thanks for a great evening!

Thank LadybirdRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Louise

Thx so much for your review. We pride ourselves in the freshness and quality of our food and just love reading about your appreciation thereof.

We are also investing a lot of time in training our staff and we are glad to read that it is paying off.

Do visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lamb shank was on special @R220, must have been in fridge for a while, could not get meat off the bone
Spare ribs no lemon water to wash hands, when we asked waiter brought ice in bucket with lemon...
Been there done that after 15 years

Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dawid

So sorry about your experience.

We asked about this review and our manager said he was at your table and nothing was said about your food not being enjoyable. We pour our finger bowls from our very hot expresso machine and a block of ice gets put into it just to prevent you from burning your hands.

Pls do try us again and we really hope your next experience will be more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful setting destroyed by no service at all. The one waitor who served us , was saying that management is looking at employing him as an assistant manager, therefore he can not service us as he have to look after the other waiters. What a lot of nonsense. Waited for over a half an hour for empty glass to drink the bottled water. Eventually i fetch one at the bar.

First impression always count. No small plates served with a sushi platter

Thank 86nicob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

O dear... Not nice to read this review. This doesn't sound like our restaurant at all? We also haven't served sushi since two months ago... Are you sure that you have the right place?

We will look into this and do apologise. Pls visit us again and bring to our managers attention about this experience and we will ensure your next experience to be the complete opposite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We happened on Dutton’s while on a scenic drive. Initially we intended to just stop for drinks but the combination of great service, fantastic view and wonderful ambience convinced us to stay for dinner. What a great decision! The food was excellent. Tempura hake prepared to perfection, baked sweet potato with creamed spinach, steak sarmie... all perfect. We were so impressed that we drove all the way back from Knysna the following evening again.... and we were impressed all over again! What an unexpected treat.

Thank RBot39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thx so much for your review and that you chose to dine with us two nights in a row.

Pls do visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Drove from George looking for a meal on the coast and stumbled on this gem of a restaurant. We sat on the upper deck, drink in hand and enjoyed the incredible view of Herolds Bay. The food is fresh, delicious and huge portions. Prof our waiter was a star, organizing tasters of drinks on tap and making sure as out of towners we had a table that provided a spectacular view. Without a doubt one of the best meals we had during our stay in George!

Thank biancadagnolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bianca

Thx so much for your review.

It gladens our hearts to read about your experience and can't wait to welcome you again to our beautiful venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutton's Cove Restaurant also viewed

 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Dutton's Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing