We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #111 of 1,304 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with my hubby looking for some good sushi and he wanted pasta what an unexpected experience. From sitting down to the meals arriving our waiter paid close attention to our needs and wants. The meals arrived and it was really good, fresh fish nothing frozen( perfect) the pasta was (as per hubby) very good, while it is during the busy season and all the places tend to be packed and service lacking, Balducci's wasn't disappointing at all. I have recommended the restaurant to a few friends that will be gracing the SA shores soon. Keep up the amazing service! Thank you Sherwin

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Babylee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Babylee10, thank you for the wonderful review. We always appreciate the feedback and we look forward to you recommending us to others. Regards, Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Totally over charged for a awful meal that was over cooked. Ruined our Christmas Day
Had to ask for vegetables that you would assume came with your dinner. Management totally unhelpful. Wouldn’t recommend this to our worst enemies.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anne h, my apologies that you had a disappointing experience with us. Pls can you email me a copy of the bill to support@slickrestaurants.com so that I can investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our standard.
Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I went here without reservations with my family of four wanting some Italian food. Our server was a nice lady but a trainee. She put us at a small round table but when the food came out it could not fit, which we pointed out beforehand but were told there were no other tables. Our pizza and pork chop came out while we had just started on our antipasti dish. We complained again and they combined a table to ours. Meanwhile the food got cold. The pizza tasted like a frozen pizza that had been microwaved. We complained and they brought another one fresh from the oven but it still wasn’t very good. We also ordered Balducci pasta, which was inedible: rubbery pasta and dry sauce. The antipasti dish was decent and pork chop ok, but small. The restaurant tries to do too much with a bible menu covering sushi, steak, Italian, etc. Should focus on doing one or a few things well. I would not recommend this place.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank nipbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear niphone, thanks for your feedback. The day in question is one of the busiest days in the year and we apologise for not meeting your expectations. We cannot guarantee any table configurations without a reservation and you were obviously accommodated as "a walk in " and this was the best table configuration we could do. We are well known in Cape Town for our pizza and pasta of which you said that the pizza tasted microwaved and the pasta rubbery. Pls could you send us a copy of your bill to support@slickrestauants.com so that we can investigate further. Kind regards, Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall a disappointing experience given the initial ‘feel’ of the place when we arrived and the extensive menu.
My own steak (fillet) was delicious but the other four meals in the party ranged from “ok” to “not very good”.
In particular the beef ribs were very disappointing with lots of fatty tissue and very little lean meat, and the ‘large’ pork chop once trimmed was to be honest quite average.
The first two wines we chose were out of stock and alternatives offered much more expensive.
Only here for a couple of weeks so lots of other places to try, but can’t see us returning.
Expensive considering what we had.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank iancX6805DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear X6805DX, my apologies that you had a disappointing experience with us. I will investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our standard. We hope to have you try us again soon when you are next visiting. Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this resturant we got there without a booking there was ten of us they accommodated us which was a plus the food was not good I had Thai prawns it was terrible my wife had butternut pocsuto pasta below average the Sevice was good the food was below average

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank COZ9808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear COZ9808, my apologies that you did not have a memorable dining occasion with us. I will investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our normal standard. We hope to have you visit us again soon to give us another chance. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing