We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but no more.”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #111 of 1,304 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall a disappointing experience given the initial ‘feel’ of the place when we arrived and the extensive menu.
My own steak (fillet) was delicious but the other four meals in the party ranged from “ok” to “not very good”.
In particular the beef ribs were very disappointing with lots of fatty tissue and very little lean meat, and the ‘large’ pork chop once trimmed was to be honest quite average.
The first two wines we chose were out of stock and alternatives offered much more expensive.
Only here for a couple of weeks so lots of other places to try, but can’t see us returning.
Expensive considering what we had.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank iancX6805DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear X6805DX, my apologies that you had a disappointing experience with us. I will investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our standard. We hope to have you try us again soon when you are next visiting. Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this resturant we got there without a booking there was ten of us they accommodated us which was a plus the food was not good I had Thai prawns it was terrible my wife had butternut pocsuto pasta below average the Sevice was good the food was below average

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank COZ9808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear COZ9808, my apologies that you did not have a memorable dining occasion with us. I will investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our normal standard. We hope to have you visit us again soon to give us another chance. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for 9 for lunch. When we got there they did not have there tables sorted out, then suggested we squash nine people around a table for 6. Manager was aggressive and dismissive in his attitude. I will never come here again.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Gerhard1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gerhard101, we are so sorry you feel the way you do about the restaurant. Yesterday was 26 December which is one of the busiest days of the year and we cannot guarantee exactly what time diners will vacate their tables to the minute especially during these really busy days.
Our management and hostess said we tried our utmost to accommodate you as we do for all our guests but you were not being at all understanding taking into account the situation.
We hope you will give us another chance. We are really so sorry we could not meet you high expectations on the busiest day of the year.
Pls feel free to send us your details so that we can at least compensate you in some way.
Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived to our booking with our baby in her stroller. As we entered, the hostess at the door informed us that we were not allowed to enter the restaurant with our stroller. They told us that if we wanted to dine at the restaurant, we would have to take our baby out of her stroller, hold her or put her in a high chair. Our baby was tired and was she just about to fall asleep in her stroller, so none of these options were reasonable. There was no logical explanation for this rule, other than it was just the restaurant's "policy". The attitude of the hostesses at the door was terribly officious, unwelcoming and snooty. I would understand if they had a policy of "no children" or "no children under ____ years of age", which is often the case in more upmarket restaurants. Never have I heard of such an unreasonable policy nor have I experienced such a horrible attitude and rude treatment by restaurant staff. Never going there again!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gaby K, we apologize for not meeting your expectations especially this time of the year but we have no option to have a policy of no strollers purely on the basis that local and overseas diners are extremely sensitive to the possibility that babies will cry and spoil their experience.
While we do believe you when you say that your baby was sleeping there is no guarantee that your or other babies may wake up due to the music or acoustics—we seat over 200 people and this after a lot of thought and consideration in keeping with international guest etiquette.
We never like losing any guests and as per our trip advisor review would love to have you back
Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome vegan food, with a great variety of options. Our waiter, Moscow, was super efficient, friendly and helpful. A great experience all round. Everything was great but the dessert was phenomenal.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jay9vegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jay9vegan, thank you for the great 5 star review for our vegan food! We appreciate it and look forward to your next dining occasion with us. Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing