We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #111 of 1,304 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived to our booking with our baby in her stroller. As we entered, the hostess at the door informed us that we were not allowed to enter the restaurant with our stroller. They told us that if we wanted to dine at the restaurant, we would have to take our baby out of her stroller, hold her or put her in a high chair. Our baby was tired and was she just about to fall asleep in her stroller, so none of these options were reasonable. There was no logical explanation for this rule, other than it was just the restaurant's "policy". The attitude of the hostesses at the door was terribly officious, unwelcoming and snooty. I would understand if they had a policy of "no children" or "no children under ____ years of age", which is often the case in more upmarket restaurants. Never have I heard of such an unreasonable policy nor have I experienced such a horrible attitude and rude treatment by restaurant staff. Never going there again!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gaby K, we apologize for not meeting your expectations especially this time of the year but we have no option to have a policy of no strollers purely on the basis that local and overseas diners are extremely sensitive to the possibility that babies will cry and spoil their experience.
While we do believe you when you say that your baby was sleeping there is no guarantee that your or other babies may wake up due to the music or acoustics—we seat over 200 people and this after a lot of thought and consideration in keeping with international guest etiquette.
We never like losing any guests and as per our trip advisor review would love to have you back
Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome vegan food, with a great variety of options. Our waiter, Moscow, was super efficient, friendly and helpful. A great experience all round. Everything was great but the dessert was phenomenal.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jay9vegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jay9vegan, thank you for the great 5 star review for our vegan food! We appreciate it and look forward to your next dining occasion with us. Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Balducci's vegan menu is an absolute delight. The food, including the dessert, ambience and our waiter, Moscow, made for an absolutely wonderful evening!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MarianneJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MarianneJ666, thank you for the review. We look forward to you dining with us again soon. Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was great!!
Waiter was so full of knowledge. Atmosphere is very classy/relax. Salads are huge, good to share.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank joannef827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joannef827, thank you for the excellent review posted on Trip Advisor. We look forward to you joining us again soon for another great 5star meal. Kind Regards, Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

From the booking to the dinner everything was well managed. I had a table for 7 people but I must say all our orders were served on time. The waiter brought life to my table; he was lively and he knew the menu from the inside out.

The atmosphere is lovely. The food is delicious and the price is worth it.

In case you don't find what you want in their menu simply ask the waiter they will make a plan. They sort of work together with another restaurant so they might take your order to the other restaurant (I forgot the name) and bring you what you want. My point is just ask the waiter if they serve the one thing that you don't seem to find. In my case I wanted a T-bone steak (I eventually ordered their fillet without bone and it was great).

My whole family loved it. I'm definitely going back there.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bryan_des_cavernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bryan, thank you very much for the wonderful review that you posted. We really do appreciate it and look forward to you joining us very soon again. Kind Regards, Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing