We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #108 of 1,294 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was highly recommended by a gentleman on a recent flight. I was excited to try it. It was crowded but a table was found. I agree with an earlier comment about the wierd seating. I was almost sharing another couple's table. I started with the minestrone. Delicious. I then inquired what was the catch of the day. I thought the server said Sole. I even repeated "it's Sole" and the server replied yes. It was Sword fish. My least favorite fish. I totally accept my error. However I feel the server was also in error for confirming the fish was Sole when I asked. I feel listening skills were a bit lacking. I had the Mac and cheese side which for me was mediocre at best. Sigh...it happens. Based on my experience I'm hesistant to recommend this restaurant.

Thank dchadick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Dchadick, we refreigned from stocking sole many years ago, as it was too inconsistent. We get fresh linefish every morning and it would be based on what was available. It is a pity that the swordfish is not one of your favourites. We do offer also kingklip and Norwegian Salmon, as well as a Baby Kingklip too. Our Mac&Cheese is made with 3 cheeses, one being Gruyere, which gives it the strong flavours that our customers all love I am sorry that you found it mediocre and hope that you will give us another chance and try some other menu items before dismissing us as a choice to visit. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018

We are a family of six, came for the restaurant twice at the same week because we had an amazing time at the first time. The prices are great, the dishes are wonderful and the service the second time was the best we had in two weeks at South Africa (Mandla made our dinner simply the best!). A three-course meal for 6 adults will cost you around 2000 rands, the steaks and pizzas and all the dishes are pretty big. We had a few different restaurants nearby but that's THE BEST! highly recommended, great from all aspects and again big thanks to Mandla!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AvivSrour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Aviv, thank you for the great review. We appreciate it and look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Amazing food, priced fairly for restaurants in that area, although not cheap at all. REally good service, and the food is just amazing! you wont be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GregTitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Greg, thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to your next visit to Cape Town. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

The food is great, the service is also very good, but the one thing that put me off anout this restaurant (and note though, that I would still go back) is the way the seating was arranged. Don't get me wrong, it was comfprtable but the tables seemed very close and people seated to the side of one another versus accros in a table for two. Seems fine enough but made me feel like I had to look over my shoulder all the time and that space was cramped even when I don't think it really was. Maybe I'm just getting old lol

Thank HRHQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear HRHQE, when the restaurant is full, it may seem that way but I can assure you that there is sufficient space between seats as we need to ensure that our service ambassadors are able to move around the tables comfortably to deliver drinks and food. We ook forward to having you join us soon again. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Travelign for the first to Cape town and got this Italian restaurant. I had pasta and my daughter had a salad. Both dishes were very tasteful and great!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Ricardo, thank you for the Trip Advisor review. We appreciate it and look forward to your visiting with us soon again. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing