We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but great”
Review of Zebra Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zebra Crossing
Reviewed 31 October 2011

There were 7 in our group and we all shared a dorm room with bunk beds. Clean, very clean thankfully, with 7 showers and toilets spread out; enough for everyone so as not to have so many people waiting. Central to Cape Town and just a 5 minute walk to Long Street. Safe place too.

Room Tip: For a big group, the dorms are great. Fyi, they do not have locks on the doors to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dialafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great place to stay! Facilities recently upgraded and clean, free wi-fi and staff were friendly and very helpful. Well located and altogether good value.

Room Tip: booked a single which was small but inexpensive and quite adequate. was joined by my partner the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Two months Spent at Zebra ... cant say i was sad to leave, but it was a pleasant experiance, a few odd people, but when do you stay at a hostel and not have odd people!? Brilliant location, and the taxis are cheap to get to other places to go. Never had a problem with security in the 2months, and if you are really worried you can leave any valuables in the safe at reception. We had issues with a German lady who was living there (oh, there are some 'residents') but you just had to ignor her. The Kitchen had everything you need (including a kettle which most EU hostels dont have!) except it did get crowded at dinner.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the sitting areas were comfortable and homely, theres even a piano!
Down points were the lack of fans - it got extremely hot and on a couple of occasions we would find ourselves sleeping in the lounges or outside! but during our stay the owner did bring some fans ... not enough but it was a start! and staying 2months with a dorm of 6girls and no wardrobes or drawers did get quite messy ... but i guess we were a oddity!
Free wifi was great to keep in contact with family and friends and overall was a great experience! .... 1 tip ... dont climb table mountain mid day!

Room Tip: Dont stay with any of the 'residents'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sezaaa_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

A great budget accomodation, next door to the Backpacker but much cheaper, with free wi-fi and more relaxed atmosphere

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank worldtraveller10114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We stayed here at the start of our round the world trip and it was a good place to find our feet. The atmosphere is generally friendly and the rooms are clean and quiet, however the kitchen is quite tatty and gets crowded quickly at meal times.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
508 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 128 in Cape Town Central
341 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#27 of 128 in Cape Town Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Blue Backpackers
#49 of 128 in Cape Town Central
140 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
City Bowl
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
#91 of 156 in Cape Town Central
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zebra Crossing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zebra Crossing

Address: 82 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 1,694 - ₹ 3,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Zebra Crossing Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing