We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, unhelpful, lousy attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is not worthy of a star rating at all. We had accommodation booked in Feb 2017 and re confirmed. On arrival (Nov 11th) we were told they did not have a room for us and we would HAVE to go to another hotel for two nights and then return.we did not want an interrupted stay in Cape Town as we had lots of things pre booked making it impossible to take a half day out of our schedule to swap hotels. We initially refused to move then they agreed we could stay at the other hotel for the duration of our holiday in Cape Town. Imagine our surprise when, after one night in the other hotel we got a message from the Mandela Rhodes stating that they EXPECTED us to return that day. We refused, and pointed out that they had told us we had to remain for two nights AND they had agreed we could stay in the other hotel for the duration of our time in Cape Town. Meanwhile we are left in limbo as to where we should get picked up for our excursions and the hotel that was accommodating us could not be sure if the Mandela Rhodes would pay up for our stay. It was not until after 3 nights in the other hotel that it was confirmed that we could stay in our hotel. I would say the Mandela Rhodes is trading on its name and has the most appalling ,arrogant , unhelpful attitude I have ever encountered. They need to understand that their business is hospitality and some lessons In being hospitable would be advisable. Don't go. There is a good chance your booking will not be honoured and you will be left upset and disrupted and your vacation will be spoiled.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Christine H

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

Unfortunately not a great start to arriving to Cape Town and we agree, we absolutely messed this one up for you and your travelling companion. How can we ever make this right? We obviously thought we were on the right track in finding an alternative for you but this proved problem-some from the onset.

This entire imposition to you was horribly handled and for this I humbly and sincerely apologise.

Please could I ask that you make contact direct with me at the Hotel, I'd like the opportunity to remedy this matter please.

With much anticipation,
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant apartments in a great location right in the centre of the city. The free shuttle bus to the V & A waterfront was very useful.We will stay here when we are next in Cape Town. A really good grocery store called Woolworths is a very short walk away

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q3007BKrobertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Q3007BKrobertp

We greatly appreciate your reviewing our amazing product, Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

We are delighted that our location and services met your expectations and that you would return on your next trip to Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back home.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to the hotel after 20 hrs flight where we were told that the hotel was overbooked and they moved us to another hotel near by with the same facilities. We checked in internet and the hotel was 3 stars and it didn't have any facilities (plus it was much cheaper). We refused to go but they didn't offer any other solution. After speaking with a manager by phone we accepted to move to the booked hotel for one night only...we were too tired to argue. The following day the hotel manager rang saying that no rooms were available and they wanted to move us to their sister hotel outside the city centre. We refused to moved as too far from the centre and not the same quality. We agreed to be fully refunded and we booked another hotel which was more expensive. Also we found out that the room was not available because of a problem with the shower.

I cannot comment about the hotel but the whole situation was handled very badly. The manager tried her best but it wasn't good enough. Problems with room happen but they lied and put in a different and cheaper hotel with no facilities.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabrizio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had a nice apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large living room. Hotel is very good located. Staff is very friendly. For dinner we went to a nice restaurant which is in the same building - excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U1455DRlarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear U1455DRlarab

Thank you for your kind review of your experience with us at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

Our fully fitted self-catering apartments are what sets us apart from other establishments in Cape Town. We are so delighted you enjoyed what we had to offer.

I shall convey your sentiments onto the rest of our team.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Rooms not really cleaned. Fridge in one room was on alert... stafff was not able to switch of alert beeping. Reception (4 star hotel) was not able to organize plug-adapter.
For departures later than check out time the hotel does not even provide a courtesy room.

Room Tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank sgs10102017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sgs10102017

Thank you for your feedback on Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

We humbly apologise for the unacceptable concerns brought forward. Cleanliness is certainly something that we strive to maintain to the highest of standards. We shall revisit this with the team to ensure training is closely monitored and this is remedied immediately.

With regards to plug adaptors, we are in the process of updating plug sockets in all our apartments to ensure the guest experience is not flawed by the need to call Reception to arrange an adaptor.

Courtesy rooms are always offered subject to availability. I can only assume there was no room available to assist with you late departure - here we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to right this experience in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
382 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,319 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 7,947 - ₹ 18,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing