We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I had to come to Cape Town for a few meetings and was lucky enough to be put up at this wonderful hotel. The views, room and staff were really wonderful! The Hotel is also situated in the center of town, with access to many restaurants in the area as well as in the hotel itself. Didn't get a chance to experience the pool area but definitely will the next time I'm down.

Room Tip: If you are able to and it's available, get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark_Seeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Mark_Seeks

Thank you for your review of Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

We are ecstatic and delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and will certainly share your comments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Great hotel and loved the access to resturants and close proximity to Cape Town's known sites. We stayed here for 5 days and every single day was amazing! The receptionist staff were amazing and provided exceptional service. They made us fell more than welcomed and comfortable during our stay. Kudos to their great service! We would definitely stay here again and again and again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrGibbsLACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear MrGibbsLACA

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team exceeded your expectations.

We shall your sentiments with the team and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We had a fantastic, comfortable stay in Capetown for 5 nights.
These are apartments rather than a hotel which gave us much more space than a hotel room. Some people have reviewed negatively for this but if you understand that before you go it’s not a problem. We had a bedroom, ensuite bathroom, lounge diner and kitchen with washing / drying machine.
The location is ideal, one street away from long Street and a short taxi ride to the waterfront bars and restaurants (around £5)
A small market just around the corner sells souvenirs and crafts much cheaper than the shops if you are prepared to haggle a bit.
The room was serviced daily and the tea and coffee replenished
It was clean and well maintained with everything we needed and we were lucky enough to get one with a great view of Table Mountain
Bedding and towels were of a great quality, in fact towels were the whitest fluffiest towels I have had in a hotel in a long time,
Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space is provided.
Staff were always amazingly friendly and helpful and deserve praise.
There are 3 bar/restaurants located in reception. We used Doppios for breakfast and dinner. Both were excellent.
Car parking is easy and accessible by lift to hotel reception (around £5 per day)
Very minor negs would be
Bed was double rather king
HAir dryer was fixed in the bathroom
Good range of Toiletries provided (conditioning shampoo so ladies might like to take your own if you prefer separate)
If you like somewhere to get ready you will need to take a mirror as there isn’t one located near a socket for dryer/straighteners.
Wi-fi is non existent in some rooms furthest from reception but they are dealing with this very soon by giving each room a router.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ladykf1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Ladykf1962

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Place.

We are delighted you found our offering to be meet your requirements and you had a fantastic stay with us.

We have made note of your raised points and will certainly make work of this.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Location - good in the middle of the city
Staff - really friendly and helpful
Rooms okay however kept away from light coming in through the window of the bathroom which lead out to the hallway - could have done with Black out curtains.
Internet access poor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Wendy L

Thank you so much for your review of Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you enjoyed the location and our team members. Apologies about the light coming in by the window, we'll certainly take note of your suggestion of a black-out curtain in the bathroom...

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Pros: Great location. Spacious accommodation. Good service. Nice estaurants on lobby level.

Cons: WIFI! But, be cautious, because although the WIFI in the room (as of Oct. 2017), was not great, it was better than other hotels in the area. (Ask specific wifi Qs when booking in Capetown). The lobby and restaurants downstairs had good, wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bajangal2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,319 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 7,947 - ₹ 18,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing