We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet place in Capetown”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #25 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in Liberty Lodge and while Ruth had her holiday, Lisa was our host. The first night we arrived late, after 11.00 pm. Lisa was still being awake and just gave us the basic info so we could go to bed. She understood us exactly and let us go to sleep after our flight fromt The Netherlands. We had great breakfasts in the morning from Lisa and she gave good advice for visiting the area. Unfortunately we had some bad weather and we only saw the Table Mountain surrounded with clouds. The Black Sheep restaurant around the corner is excellent!

Definitely would recommend this Lodge to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Susanne

Many thanks for writing such a nice review about not only the Lodge, but Lisa, who is loved by everyone who stays here. I am sorry I missed you but do hope that perhaps one day you will pay us another visit and I will try and organise good weather for you!!!

Best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 393 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We spend 5 nights at the liberty lodge and Ruth was a great host. The location was great as close to klook street where you can find restaurant and bars but not as noisy as Long street. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and amenities was excellent. The lodge is cosy which made us felt at home. Ruth prepared cookies, coffee and tea which you can have any time you want throughout the day. From our room we have an excellent view of the table mountain! Would love to go back to Cape Town again and would definitely stay in liberty lodge

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi there M and C (I think you wrote this review)!

Thank you so much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and I am so glad you had such a good time. Do come again one day, if at all possible - you can never get tired of Cape Town as there is so much to see and do!

Very best wishes
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Liberty Lodge was a terrific find - I wouldn't hesitate to book again if I ever revisit Cape Town.The guest house is situated close to both Table Mountain and Kloof St, featuring some lovely restaurants, along with supermarkets, pharmacy, etc. At the same time, it's a walk down hill to down town or an inexpensive taxi/uber fare away.

Ruth was a delightful host - friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and with a good sense of humour. She provided many useful suggestions re Cape Town visits and other locations - and even assisted with taxi bookings and car hire.

The Lodge was impeccably clean and tastefully decorated throughout - and very comfortable. The terrace has a fabulous view of the mountain and was perfect for a pre-dinner drink (which you can chill yourself in the communal fridge).

Breakfasts were lovely - a great start to a day of touring about with cereals, fruit and hot and cold offerings.

Terrific value - given all the points noted above - and each day it was lovely to return "home".

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147tcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi T and L!

Many, many thanks for your kind and very informative review. You covered so many aspects of your stay here and I am delighted that you had such a good time. Do return "home" again one day - it would be lovely to see you

My very best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We spent two wonderful nights at Liberty Lodge. It is perfectly situated in Cape Town near happening restaurants and various attractions - there's no better neighbourhood to stay in. The Lodge is charming, and its host, Ruth, is extremely helpful and lovely! We'll definitely stay here again on our next visit to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi there, I and M!

Thank you for your very kind review. It was so nice to meet you both - on such a special trip! I know that you fell in love with the city and truly hope that one day you will come and stay again - this time for a little longer.

My very best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful 6 nights at Liberty Lodge. Its location is perfect: in Tamboerskloof under Table Mountain (with great views of this iconic mountain). Ruth was a great host, the staff was friendly, and the place is comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Great Art Deco! It is just up the street from Kloof Road where there are lots of trendy restaurants and stores.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Steven

My thanks to you for reviewing the Lodge on Tripadvisor and for your kind words. When you stay here, you know you are in Cape Town when you can see Table Mountain from either your room or from the terrace!

Hoping to see you again one day - my very best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
330 reviews
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
616 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Blue House Guesthouse
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
107 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 156 in Cape Town Central
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 6,362 - ₹ 9,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing