We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
350
48
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
48
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kloof street owner ruth table mountain complimentary sherry every morning the black sheep first floor camps bay within walking distance bars and restaurants roof terrace fresh fruit stay in cape town easy access city bowl living room home from home
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We spend 5 nights at the liberty lodge and Ruth was a great host. The location was great as close to klook street where you can find restaurant and bars but not as noisy as Long street. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and amenities was excellent. The lodge is cosy which made us felt at home. Ruth prepared cookies, coffee and tea which you can have any time you want throughout the day. From our room we have an excellent view of the table mountain! Would love to go back to Cape Town again and would definitely stay in liberty lodge

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Cosmopolitan45842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi there M and C (I think you wrote this review)!

Thank you so much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and I am so glad you had such a good time. Do come again one day, if at all possible - you can never get tired of Cape Town as there is so much to see and do!

Very best wishes
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Liberty Lodge was a terrific find - I wouldn't hesitate to book again if I ever revisit Cape Town.The guest house is situated close to both Table Mountain and Kloof St, featuring some lovely restaurants, along with supermarkets, pharmacy, etc. At the same time, it's a walk down hill to down town or an inexpensive taxi/uber fare away.

Ruth was a delightful host - friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and with a good sense of humour. She provided many useful suggestions re Cape Town visits and other locations - and even assisted with taxi bookings and car hire.

The Lodge was impeccably clean and tastefully decorated throughout - and very comfortable. The terrace has a fabulous view of the mountain and was perfect for a pre-dinner drink (which you can chill yourself in the communal fridge).

Breakfasts were lovely - a great start to a day of touring about with cereals, fruit and hot and cold offerings.

Terrific value - given all the points noted above - and each day it was lovely to return "home".

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147tcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi T and L!

Many, many thanks for your kind and very informative review. You covered so many aspects of your stay here and I am delighted that you had such a good time. Do return "home" again one day - it would be lovely to see you

My very best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We spent two wonderful nights at Liberty Lodge. It is perfectly situated in Cape Town near happening restaurants and various attractions - there's no better neighbourhood to stay in. The Lodge is charming, and its host, Ruth, is extremely helpful and lovely! We'll definitely stay here again on our next visit to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi there, I and M!

Thank you for your very kind review. It was so nice to meet you both - on such a special trip! I know that you fell in love with the city and truly hope that one day you will come and stay again - this time for a little longer.

My very best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful 6 nights at Liberty Lodge. Its location is perfect: in Tamboerskloof under Table Mountain (with great views of this iconic mountain). Ruth was a great host, the staff was friendly, and the place is comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Great Art Deco! It is just up the street from Kloof Road where there are lots of trendy restaurants and stores.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Steven

My thanks to you for reviewing the Lodge on Tripadvisor and for your kind words. When you stay here, you know you are in Cape Town when you can see Table Mountain from either your room or from the terrace!

Hoping to see you again one day - my very best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Thank you Ruth. A real home from home and being able to ask about the town gave us insider knowledge that got us a real flavour of Cape Town in our four days here.

Helpful with taxis and checking on whether ferries are running and general queries about what to see and what to do whilst you are here.

If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay then look no further.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Whats F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews