We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
348
48
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
48
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetowner ruthtable mountaincomplimentary sherryevery morningthe black sheepfirst floorcamps baywithin walking distancebars and restaurantsroof terracefresh fruitstay in cape towneasy accesscity bowlliving roomhome from home
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

It was a real pleasure to stay there - initially planned to stay for a few nights but ended up staying for 9 - Lisa who works there and looked after the house when Ruth was on holidays was fantastic - always smiling and very helpful - I'll always fondly remember her phrase "Oh Father !" beautifully sprinkled into lovely chit chat as she served very nice breakfasts.

Room was perfect with free wifi ( which was what i needed when i was there ) and great views of Table Mountain and the city from the balcony.

Located near Kloof Street which is a lively and somewhat trendy area with loads of good restaurants and bars nearby - good food, atmosphere and banter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Good location on quiet street a block from a street with good restaurants, such as Arnold's, and walking distance to downtown. Nice large room downstairs in old home. Ruth was very helpful and made you feel a guest in a private home. Easy access to Table Mountain and out of Cape Town, without going through congested downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at Liberty Lodge for 3 nights in May and Ruth was the owner was very welcoming, offering us suggestions of what to do and where to eat. This was our final stop off in SA, having driven the Garden Route and none of the other Guest Lodges had been as welcoming and Ruth and the 2 ladies who work there are responsible for that - they were great! The location was excellent with a 5 min drive to the Table mountain cable car and about a 10 min drive to the Waterfront. The Guest Lodge offered on street parking and was on a fairly quiet residential street, so street noise wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addictedtotravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My mother and I stayed at Liberty lodge for a few days before my sister's wedding. The accomodations were perfect. The location is close to many restaurants and cute boutiques but not directly on a busy street. The room and balcony were lovely, but Ruth and the ladies who work there made the whole experience that much better. I would recommend Liberty lodge to any one who is going to visit Capetown!

Room Tip: The rooms upstair have direct access to the balcony!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Liberty Lodge and owner Ruth came through. Accommodations and service excellent and comforting since we traveled from the Chicago, IL to be with family in Cape Town. Safe and secure, we felt very much welcomed and at home. Thank you to Ruth and her wonderful staff! We would recommend and plan on staying again in our future travels back to this area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews