We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location + Service = Brilliance”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #25 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We came to Cape Town for business to conduct meetings. We had a lovely time staying here. We had our privacy to continue with our business in a comfortable and easily accessable setting. Beautiful interior and and nice large rooms. From the balkony upstairs you have a great view of Table Mountain. Although the weather wasn't the best, we stil enjoyed what Cape Town has to offer this time of the year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

It was a real pleasure to stay there - initially planned to stay for a few nights but ended up staying for 9 - Lisa who works there and looked after the house when Ruth was on holidays was fantastic - always smiling and very helpful - I'll always fondly remember her phrase "Oh Father !" beautifully sprinkled into lovely chit chat as she served very nice breakfasts.

Room was perfect with free wifi ( which was what i needed when i was there ) and great views of Table Mountain and the city from the balcony.

Located near Kloof Street which is a lively and somewhat trendy area with loads of good restaurants and bars nearby - good food, atmosphere and banter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Good location on quiet street a block from a street with good restaurants, such as Arnold's, and walking distance to downtown. Nice large room downstairs in old home. Ruth was very helpful and made you feel a guest in a private home. Easy access to Table Mountain and out of Cape Town, without going through congested downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at Liberty Lodge for 3 nights in May and Ruth was the owner was very welcoming, offering us suggestions of what to do and where to eat. This was our final stop off in SA, having driven the Garden Route and none of the other Guest Lodges had been as welcoming and Ruth and the 2 ladies who work there are responsible for that - they were great! The location was excellent with a 5 min drive to the Table mountain cable car and about a 10 min drive to the Waterfront. The Guest Lodge offered on street parking and was on a fairly quiet residential street, so street noise wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addictedtotravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My mother and I stayed at Liberty lodge for a few days before my sister's wedding. The accomodations were perfect. The location is close to many restaurants and cute boutiques but not directly on a busy street. The room and balcony were lovely, but Ruth and the ladies who work there made the whole experience that much better. I would recommend Liberty lodge to any one who is going to visit Capetown!

Room Tip: The rooms upstair have direct access to the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Blue House Guesthouse
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
108 reviews
La Grenadine
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
280 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 6,477 - ₹ 9,909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing