We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome in Cape Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #23 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plainfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Liberty Lodge and owner Ruth came through. Accommodations and service excellent and comforting since we traveled from the Chicago, IL to be with family in Cape Town. Safe and secure, we felt very much welcomed and at home. Thank you to Ruth and her wonderful staff! We would recommend and plan on staying again in our future travels back to this area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    47
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
185
58
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jhb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Ruth is an amazing lady with a n amazing bnb. It was so homey and beautiful there. I had the most enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anele h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Immediately after I emailed Ruth to inquire about reserving one of the guest rooms at Liberty Lodge, she responded and through a series of emails, was extremely helpful as I made plans to sightsee during our stay in Cape Town. She arranged a Winelands tour, arranged our taxi ride back to the airport, and even went so far as to provide bubblewrap and tape to protect a piece of artwork that my daughter had purchased. Liberty Lodge is centrally located in a beautiful part of Cape Town. The home is tastefully decorated and the breakfast, made to order, was delicious. We stayed in a second floor room, and the view from the terrace was spectacular. I highly recommend the Liberty Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I've stayed at Liberty Lodge several times as I go to Cape Town a couple of times a year. I love that the owner, Ruth, will always prebook popular restaurants and events for me so I can just feel like a local as soon as I arrive. If you are travelling on your own, ask for the small bedroom that has private access onto the breakfast courtyard in the afternoon and evening! It's a great place to read and have a glass of wine in the early evening if you've been running around in the sun all day! I find it amusing to listen in on some of the breakfast conversation, too! There's an individually prepared hot breakfast on offer, but I often stick to the fresh fruit and cereal and head back to bed!
Liberty Lodge is in a great location - walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops, so you don't feel you're tied to your car all the time. It's also central enough to taxi to Camp's Bay or the Waterfront in a few minutes for an upmarket night out. The view of Table Mountain is a constant thrill, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I heard rave comments from colleagues about the location, the view of Table Mountain, the comfortable rooms and the owner of this guesthouse and was definitely not disappointed. Liberty Lodge is within walking diatance of some good restaurants and shops and the owner, Ruth, joyfully and enthusiastically helped me to select a room, exciting activities and called a taxi when I needed one. Breakfast is glorious and the staff, Lisa and Nita, prepared exactly what I liked, with a smile and good humour. I felt comfortable thanks to Ruth's constant care and at home and the guesthouse is perfectly situated for any trip in and around Cape Town.

Room Tip: The rooms MADIBA and GHANDI lead onto the terrace with perfect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-...
#30 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#26 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#5 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#47 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#15 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Property: Liberty Lodge
Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,948 - ₹ 8,758
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing