We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice view”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #24 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The place was in a great location with a lovely view of Table Mountain from the terrace. The room was comfy and interestingly-decorated with a contemporary and African flair. We didn't eat breakfast there since we wanted to try lots of restaurants. Ruth was generally nice, but she seemed inconvenienced by having to wait for the rest of my party later in the evening. I found this a bit odd as it is the owner's job to welcome and orient guests.
There is a great, hip little restaurant called Manna up the hill on Kloof St that I also definitely recommend, as well as Kyoto a few blocks down, as well as the little bar next door (not Raffiki's).

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room on the ground floor next to the front walkway, as you can hear everyone coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acun6100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

As the owner of Liberty Lodge, I always welcome constructive criticism on the house and the service I provide. It is also interesting to read a third party's perception of a shared experience but this one leaves me somewhat baffled.

Unlike a hotel, we do not have a 24 hour reception but I am always on hand to greet my guests, regardless of the time, day or night. In this particular incident, I had several exchanges by text message with the second member of the party yet to arrive and despite several changes to the arrival time within the space of an hour, the last message stating they did not know when they would arrive, I made it clear I would be there to greet them. I really cannot understand the criticism about my being inconvenienced to welcome and orientate a guest.

I am sorry that this guest was disappointed with their reception, as all previous reviews, without exception, attest to their satisfaction with the service I provide

Generally, it seems that the guest enjoyed their stay in Cape Town, which I was delighted to read about in the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

While in Cape Town we decided to stay at Liberty Lodge; we were not disappointed. Your hostess Ruth is a lovely woman who will help you with anything regarding your stay at Cape Town. She showed us the lay of the land and how to get to the city center, the waterfront, and restaurants and coffeshops nearby. The breakfasts and coffee were served in a lovely garden; Ruth was delightful company while enjoying our omlettes made by Lisa. If you google omlettes+Cape Town, you will probably get a Lisa as the top spot. Her made to order omlettes are out of this world. Lisa and Nita, the staff of the guesthouse, are incredibly sweet and kind, and are the gems of Liberty Lodge. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. The bathrooms are appropriate size for a Victorian house. Within close walking distance are some very enjoyable restaurants and a wellness/holistic shopping mall.... fun. You'll enjoy staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCeedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here with a mate for 5 nights during the World Cup in 2010. Very safe, clean and comfortable and amazing breakfasts cooked to order every morning. Ruth is a great host and organises whatever you need from tours to taxis.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK_family_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great location and lovely guesthouse. Ruth is a very helpful host. Would definitely reccommend to friends and family and agree with the other excellent reviews here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Liberty Lodge is a wonderful place to stay, in a great location for the city and exploring it's surrounds. The rooms are lovely, clean, spacious and comfortable. There is a small garden to enjoy a delicious breakfast of tropical fruits, breads, cheeses and Lisa's excellent cooked breakfasts. Several of the rooms have access to the delightful roof terrace with a stunning view of Table Mountain and the city. Above all, Ruth is the most fantastic host - fun, friendly, hospitable and incredibly helpful. I have stayed here twice now, and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Two rooms have direct access to the beautiful terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
645 reviews
La Grenadine
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
263 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
Welgelegen
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
451 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 5,928 - ₹ 8,729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing