We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience. Staff was great. Breakfast made by Hilda was fabulous. If you have a sweet tooth...the candy that was at your bedside was yummy.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumma4106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    121
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
54
524
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Nice room, good service, excellent breakfast and LOVED the hot water bottles in the bed at turndown!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan for five nights following a wonderful safari experience in Botswana. Due to unexpected change in flights, we arrived even later than expected but were greeted warmly and shown to our room. We asked for a different room the next day (odd bathroom, due to constraints on renovations fur to historic nature of property) and were accommodated cheerfully and professionally by the manager. All of the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts are superb - wonderful fresh fruits (including passion fruit, my favorite!), great choice of yoghurts, meats and cheeses, pastries, and eggs cooked to order and served with a smile. Very nice breakfast area, with some outside seating. Small pool, lovely common rooms. Several nice restaurants within walking distance. I didn't feel well one night, so we ordered food from a service provided by the hotel and the quality f the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were at Cape Cadogan for 5 nights in early March. Room was large and clean with good bed. Bathroom was largest I've ever seen in a hotel (although the doors were slatted for less privacy). Outside porch was delightful with view of Table Mountain. Free internet. Breakfasts were wonderful. Service staff was uniformly friendly and most helpful - especially Yiska who solved a problem for us - spending a fair amount of time doing so. We liked the neighborhood location, convenient to a number of restaurants on Kloof and even to Company Gardens, althogh a fair distance from waterfront. We felt safe at all times, even walking on Kloof after dark. We enjoyed the free afternoon port/sherry. Met a number of other nice guests.

Room Tip: we liked our room (4) with porch and view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Cant recommend this hotel enough. Great Location, very clean but most of all, friendliness of the staff. Breakfasts were superb, all other facilities, whilst nothing flashy, were all good. If we go back, will make every effort to stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building were possibly a little quieter than those which were part of the Villa, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,580 - ₹ 28,947
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Prestigia so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing