We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
440
69
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
69
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kloof street table mountain plunge pool complimentary port cafe paradiso cul de sac the black sheep garden district honor bar some great restaurants our honeymoon small touches each evening quiet location lovely guesthouse common areas stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2015

My new husband and I had a fabulous 4 night stay at this beautiful guest house/boutique hotel. The hotel is in the less touristy part of Cape Town, near Kloof Street which is a hive of activity in the evening with great restaurants and bars and local prices!
On arrival at 11pm we were shown to our room by Alex who was friendly and welcoming. In the morning, the breakfast was lovely where you could choose from home cooked muffins, fruit and a cooked breakfast which set you up for the day!
You are a 10 minute walk down Kloof Street towards the centre and we felt safe both in the daylight, and in the evening. Fiona who manages the guest house arranged our dinner for the first and second night and we were happy to go with her recommendations (she has incredible knowledge) and the restaurants we ate out were incredible and great value for money (3 courses and wine for 2 for £50). On our third day, Fiona organised a bespoke trip for us as we lost a day in Cape Town due to our flight. It's very laid back in Cape Town. Our driver picked us up at 8 and returned us at 6.30 and the cost was £80 in total, for the 2 of us and we covered so much in that day. If it hadn't been for Fiona, we wouldn't have been able to see as much of this beautiful country.
Our favourite part of the stay were the little touches - the homemade cakes in the room and the loyalty bar as well as free port and use of the living room to sit and relax and listen to the music softly playing in the background. Thank you to Fiona, Simon, Alex and the staff. The hotel has great views of Table Mountain and I would definitely stay again - thank you for everything.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 as a honeymoon couple and it had a bath in the room - amazing! The rooms through the guest house to the back at views of Table Mountain - choice is yours!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClaireyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Small, charming, amazingly comfortable stay. This boutique hotel had it all..great location (walking distance to wonderful restaurants, bars, etc.), fantastic breakfasts, beautifully decorated rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. A small hotel but not too small, quiet rooms, large bathrooms, a great courtyard, wifi,and loved the honor bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Table Mountain
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Warm welcome, beautiful rooms, lovely laid back atmosphere, outstanding location, best place to stay in Cape Town. I started recommending it as soon as we got home and we'll stay here every time we go back.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

We only stayed 3 nights, but the rooms and the experience made us feel as if we were living locally. The atmosphere is very nonchalant and friendly, with the staff looking after us as if we were old friends.

We appreciated being transferred to a room with a balcony and view when we requested. While room 2 was very lovely and spacious, we were inkling for a better view of table mountain as we're quite familiar with city views. Simon offered room 5, which met and exceeded our expectations. Enjoying a glass of wine by the open balcony while watching clouds drift over table mountain in the setting sun is unbeatable.

As others said, location was unbeatable. Fiona booked a lovely dinner reservation for us, while Alex and Simon made sure we were taken care of in the evenings. We "lost" a wallet in the room right before a dinner reservation. Luckily, Simon saw us off in a cab and suggested the hotel can cover taxi expenses if needed (we still had a few dollars on us so it wasn't necessary). While at dinner, we received word that Simon found the wallet while turning down room. We really appreciated the quick responses and the care in everything.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nataliya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We received the warmest of welcomes at this lovely boutique hotel including a bottle of bubbly in our room to celebrate our honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and welcoming at fatten you up each morning with freshly baked goods including muffins. The spa treatment with Norbet is not to be missed. There are some great local restaurants within easy walking distance, but to make the most of the fantastic city of Cape Town and its surroundings I would strongly recommend a car hire for at least a part of your stay. Return visit definitely on the agenda.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Turls84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews