We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welgelegen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welgelegen
Certificate of Excellence
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The location, near CBD, was great. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed (including current magazines and chocolates), the breakfast was absolutely wonderful, but it was the customer service that I will remember. The staff exceeded my expecations at every turn. Our family will remember this hotel and recommends it heartily to anyone making a choice as to where to stay. Adene (sp) made us feel at home and special at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickySusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
268
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Welgelegen for four nights. It is a great boutique hotel consisting of 2 houses joined by an outdoor courtyard with a plunge pool. We had a family room in the front house that had a separate alcove with 2 single beds for our girls and another alcove with a king size bed for us. The room was spacious with a very large bathroom with double sinks, large tub, stand up shower and heated towel racks. The hallway separating the 2 sleeping alcoves had a wall of built in closets with plenty of room for all our clothes (and lots of hangers!), a flat screen tv and plenty of nice comfortable lounge chairs. They have remote control temperature controls which were easy to use from the bed.

We had fresh fruit and a bottle of Port upon arrival, complementary cookies (which the girls loved) and the weather forecast and chocolates on our pillows at night. The hotel has their own green products in the bathroom which were all very nice. They have a large front porch, spacious living room area and large dining room. Free snacks and an honor bar were set up every afternoon in the dining room, in addition to the mini bar in each of the rooms. Wifi was free and the internet connection was very good. 

The service was fabulous. Breakfast was great - with fresh fruit, wonderful multi grain bread, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, dried fruit, cold cuts, juices, and choices of hot entrees (pancakes, eggs, etc) which they cooked to order and easily accommodated dietary requests. It was served 7-10am so could get an early start when we wanted or sleep later.  The dining room is spacious with a nice fireplace and decorated with eclectic African art. We had our choice of dining inside or outside on the courtyard. 

The staff is very friendly, eager to please and we got great suggestions for our touring. One morning they were playing great music during breakfast which we asked about. When we returned later that day,  we found they had made us copies of 2 MP3 tapes and left them for us in our room!! 

It was a wonderful place to stay. It is located next to Table Mountain, which we could see from our room windows and from our balcony overlooking the courtyard. Kloof Street is a block away with lots of restaurants.  The hotel location was great for getting to Table Mountain, downtown and the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. 

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, request the family suite. There are no elevators, so if you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were assisted to our room by helpful staff and then treated to a welcoming bottle of champagne, but then there was the breathtaking view of Table Mountain from our balcony. The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds, spacious well functioning bathrooms, TV/DVD, and free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Breakfast was served by polite, friendly staff and was nothing short of the best. Fiona, the owner, was available to help at any turn. It wasn’t our first visit to Cape Town, but we were delighted with her restaurant recommendations and assistance with theatre booking. Oh, we thought we could do without a car but she recommended a classic car rental company, Retro Rentals. It was not only a good bargain but loads of fun getting around the Cape in a classic Mercedes. We will be back for another visit and will look forward to returning to the Welgelegen!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Nederland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed in this guesthouse for 4 nights in March 2012. The guesthouse existed of two adjoining spacious and characteristic houses, connected by an open terrace. In the morning breakfast was served either in or outdoor. Quality of food was very good and fresh. Service of the personnel and the hosts was also very good. Location was perfect, close to major attractions and sites. The area (called Gardens) was very safe. I can recommend Welgegen guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here with my daugther in September last year, and I must say it was one of the most homely places I've stayed at in a long while. The rooms are spacious, the location is great, walking distance to restaurants and Kloofstr with its lovely quaint little shops. The staff are extremely friendly, very welcoming and Fiona is a true gem. She really gets to know her clients and will always recommend the best attractions and actually spend time finding out what they like.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Parker Cottage
#2 of 162 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welgelegen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen

Property: Welgelegen
Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,753 - ₹ 15,458
Hotel Class:4 star — Welgelegen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welgelegen Boutique Hotel - an urban sanctuary in the heart of Cape Town". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central
Welgelegen Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing