We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under rated!”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #63 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Under rated!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

What a find!
Brilliant location, clean,, affordable, lovely staff, superb breakfast need I go on?
Others I spoke with at breakfast also commented on how under rated it is.

Room Tip: I had the single room as I was on my own. It is small but a very clever use of space. It wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    191
    50
    11
    2
See reviews for
32
130
49
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

I have been here for three weeks. This is a great hotel. As I have stayed I have noticed its subtlty, everything is very nicely done but without ostentation. The room is well equipped, the decor is refined, the restaurant is fabulous and very good value. The staff are helpful and well trained. It's in the business district but only a 50 rand taxi to the waterfront! I am back again for two weeks and never considered an alternative as it such a refreshing change from the other business hotels.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DPBDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I found this hotel very good. the food was good,the service was good.
The only complant we had was when we moved in we found that the bedside draw had a box of condoms and empty packets in.
My idea of a good hotel is that you should move into a room and think that you are the first guest to use that room.

Room Tip: Parking is good, right next door with door into the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Have stayed in a few hotels in Cape Town over recent months of varying standards and found this to be centrally placed and of an excellent standard. The breakfast was superb and we found the staff very friendly and eager to help. Great laundry service in an emergency.
Thanks !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I keep going back to this upmarket but reasonably priced hotel. Experienced hotel staff who have been there for years; very conveniently situated; and rooms that have all the necessary amenities - a real desk, powerful hot showers, proper cupboards, lots of plugs, great breakfast and in house restaurant, parking and service with a smile. Avoid 'limited service' places that cost more and stay at a place where wise tourists mix with public servants visiting the national parliament.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PMGeducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#58 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,236 - ₹ 15,643
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing