We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot to stay in CT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenwin Guest House
Ranked #80 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My family and I have been there on a number of occasions the last time over the Easter period.
For us the guesthouse is situated very nicely for e.g. close to the Waterfront and also other
beautiful spots in the city. The rooms are well-equipped and comfortable. The breakfast has a lovely choice of continental and full hearty breakfast. And Kelly has always given us good tips
to go...The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We would recommend this guesthouse to anyone staying in CT.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

V friendly staff and great location. Breakfast was basic with no finesse.. Ie poached eggs are done in an egg poacher not hand dolloped into a swirling pool of vinegary water. Am I a ponce? Possibly but it felt a bit of a function rather than a service.

Room 6 felt like it had been put together rather than a proper bedroom - we had a peak at the others and they were far better. V enjoyable stay but room and brekky could be better.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrchris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We 1st stayed 3 nights in an apartment belonging to Brenwin on the right of the main house.
It's conveniently situated, close to the Waterfront, the harbour & breakfast is copious & good.
The 1st night I noticed that the bed didnt smell clean, the following day I discovered that a sheet had been put over a urine stained mattress cover, I threw both in the bathroom.
the following day there was a new sheet.
The night before a very early flight we stayed the night as we knew the way to the airport; we had a different room & again none of the bedsheets smelled clean.
I checked the pillow under the pillow cover, it does need to go in the washing machine.
Within a fortnight, we stayed in several 3 * guest houses, the bedsheets were clean.

Room Tip: Check the bed as soon as you arrive the management dont stay on the premises there is a guard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights at Brenwin Guest House and was impressed by everything. We had an amazing room over looking the pool, so big, bright and impressive. The breakfast was a perfect way to start the day and the Brenwin is in great location, easy walk to V&A, restaurants, pubs etc. The walking path to the city is also not too hard. The staff at reception were excellent, beginning with what I can only assume was a room upgrade, arranging for us to do tours, taxis to and from the airport and just general advise (they recommended a great weekend market we would have never known to try for example). The pool was a little too cold for swimming (it was winter) but lovely terrace and real home feel about this place. If you want a fancy bling place then maybe not for you but if you want to be in a small place with friendly fell this cant be beat. We were surprised by what a great stay we had here and when we return will be back at Brenwin-a real gem in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank housekeeping30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great guest house, simple rooms, but the place is quiet and its family owned which makes you feel a bit at home! Recommed for a budget holliday.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TchiLuanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
#18 of 129 in Cape Town Central
195 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 129 in Cape Town Central
713 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#49 of 156 in Cape Town Central
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
309 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenwin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenwin Guest House

Address: P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 6,383 - ₹ 8,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenwin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brenwin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenwin Hotel Cape Town
Brenwin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing