We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,817)
Filter reviews
1,817 results
Traveller rating
1,501
232
61
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,501
232
61
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews planet restaurant high tea oasis restaurant pink lady famous afternoon tea chef's table tennis courts colonial hotel finger sandwiches grand dame table mountain grand old lady main building junior suite company gardens this wonderful hotel oysters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,817 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

This is hands down one of the best hotels in South Africa and certainly the best in Cape Town!
The hotel grounds are for royalty. The bubblegum color is extremely charming and pleasant to look at.
The service was second to none, from the main door to check out.
Food at breakfast was extremely diverse.
The room was impeccable.
The pool had superb views of table mountains.
EXCELLENT hotel

Room Tip: The Bungalows
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mr-Worldwide1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you so much for your glowing review, we are absolutely delighted to receive such superlative compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Celebrated birthday high tea at this glorious hotel in the shade of table mountain. Very grand and memorable. Definitely a bucket list tick off event. For foreigners it would not be costly.
To be treated in style with butlers etc. made the occasion even more special.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank jnnj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We are delighted that you were treated in such style at our hotel, thank you so much for your review and your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Our family (2 rooms) stayed for 5 days in early June 2018. Everything, from the initial reception to check-out, was totally professional. Service was attentive. Staff knew our names. The is the one hotel in Cape Town you have to stay in to truly experience a 5-star visit. We enjoyed the Planet Bar, what a relaxing atmosphere and you have to see the revolving solar system chandelier. The food at breakfast and in the Lord Nelson restaurant was excellent. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. We were fortunate to have a great view of Table Mountain. The concierges, Vass and Kieth, were very helpful both before and during our visit with their recommendations for sightseeing, restaurants, and arranging private cars for our day trips out of Cape Town to Stellenbosch and the Cape Peninsula. Also the pianist in the lobby in the evenings was one of the most enjoyable we have listened to anywhere.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

How happy we were to read this glowing review of your five day stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to all our staff as well as Henry Dike, our pianist. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Stayed at 'The Nellie' 20th-26th June 2018. Although we had enjoyed visiting before and partaking of high tea (so 'high', in fact, that you won't need to eat any more that day!), this was our first stay as guests. We were welcomed with open arms and made to feel just so relaxed, comfortable and at home, thanks to the lovely staff. The hotel was not busy (mid-winter!) and we got a free upgrade to one of the nicest suites in the entire building, overlooking the beautiful gardens. The room was gorgeous, quiet and with the most comfortable beds ever; yet you are only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Cape Town and everything the city has to offer - and a lovely walk at that, if you make your way down through the Company's Garden. But the best thing of all is the staff, and that is what makes this hotel so very special. You immediately get the feeling that they would do anything for you, nothing is too much trouble and all they want is for you to be comfortable and delighted with your stay. Cannot recommend too highly. Thank you, everyone, for making what was already meant to be a 'special occasion' for us so extra specially special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the building, i.e. not too far from bar, restaurant, breakfast room etc.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pjv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We are beaming with delight at your warm and wonderful review of our hotel, our staff, our location - we are so proud that we helped you to feel so "specially special". We do hope you will return, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We stayed at the Belmond Mt. Nelson Hotel for 2-1/2 days -- it is a beautiful and elegant home away from home reminiscent of times gone by, with very good food, excellent personalized service. It is very close to downtown, but away from the hustle-bustle of the waterfront -- for us it was an excellent home base from which to explore the city. I only wish we had scheduled more time there.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank NEWLYRETIRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We love the fact that you found our location to be your perfect home base to explore the city and that you felt you were staying in a beautiful and elegant home. Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews