We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be happier”
Review of O'ways Teacafe

O'ways Teacafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Came here for breakfast on an autumn morning wishing for something good. I am without words, freshest ingredients in the vegan pancake, vegetables cooked to perfection. Son had cinnamon sugared pancakes and was a happy chappy. Since there was a vegan chocolate cake on offer I had to indulge. There is variety of speciality teas and off course coffee. Definitely worth another visit although I was not happy to pay R62 for 2 pancakes sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon. That was not worth it as the pancake with veges cost R60.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sureshinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We really enjoyed the lovely ritual of tea making at this place - very calming and pretty, and the tea was also really delicious. However, my main, the spanakopita lacked flavour and the saltiness from the feta was overpowering.

I will be back, but just for the tea.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CapeLiving30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

The food at O’ways is really nice. All vegetarian with a broad selection of teas. The atmosphere is relaxed and it is a really nice spot. The device can be a bit more attentive

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Cozy, casual decor. Good service. Very good lunches. I had the Kimchi special with eggs. They serve coffee as well in addition to the many teas.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Herrliberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This is a delightful tea and coffee shop specializing in teas from around the world. They also sell everything necessary to make a good cuppa, including samovars, Chinese teapots, and upmarket accoutrements.

It is spacious and they encourage sharing because most of the tables are big communal ones, although there are a few two seaters and some high chairs in the window. They have several newspapers to browse and free WIFI (you need a password). It is popular with students with laptops and folks who aren't in a hurry. They encourage you to linger.

This is a good thing as it takes a long time to get your food. Even at 2 PM after the main lunch crush, it took nearly 25 minutes to get a main. They ran out of the veggie curry so i had the kimchi dim sum. Very little kimchi but lots of dough, so it wasn't great. (My neighbor's veggie burger was similar stodgy). But the tea the waitress recommended with my main was a heavenly jasmine. In fact, they pair teas to all their food items and have a serious tea menu with teas from all over the world to discover.

I would have liked to have had a dessert but they only had cookies and three varieties of cheese cake. Great if you like cheese cake but if you don't too bad. That's all there always is for dessert.

A great place to meet a friend for a quiet chat; read the paper or a book or be in the "third place" away from home and work.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Poleinahole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'ways Teacafe also viewed

Claremont, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Wynberg, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to O'ways Teacafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing