We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit in Cape Town”

Marco's African Place
Ranked #84 of 1,299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 April 2017

First, the staff is very attentive. Our waitron spent a lot of time with us going over the specials & answering questions. They bring amazing fresh homemade bread with butter to the table. I could've made a meal of that alone. It was so soft & tasty! We had impala, springbok & kudu; all were cooked to perfection. The bartender was very generous with alcohol in the drinks. We were not rushed out of the restaurant, though I find that is the usual for SA restaurants.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Carrie A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Grab your spirit of adventure and head here for a totally different eating (and cultural) experience.
Kudu, ostrich, impala - they are here and I sampled all three to great satisfaction. The others I was with were less adventurous but pronounced their steaks and fish to be wonderful too.
After pudding, the entertainment - African musicians and dancers - kept everyone well entertained well into the later hours.
Great fun!
Great staff.
Go there!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnBoyHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

While walking down Long Street we asked for African food places. This was in the list and was the closest. It was lunch time and only part of the second floor was being used. Bad sign, we thought, but food and service were very good. We had different meats: ostrich, impala, crocodile, springbok and kudu. I found the polenta-like side a very good complement to the meat. Everything done as ordered.
I would come back.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Argosjeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Of course, it is touristic. But there were also african people for dinner. We had excellent game steaks (Springbok, Kudu, ostrich and Impala) and the music and especially the dancers were big fun.
We enjoyed our evening very much.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank ingka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

The food was a delightful experience and we had the platter with crocodile tail, kudu steak and springbok meat. Later ox tongue too. The fried caterpillar was actually delicious once we got over the psychological hurdle that we were eating what used to crawl. Then the band started and the whole atmosphere took on an energy of its own - dynamic rhythm created by wooden xylophones, drums and percussions - with dancing and audience participation.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco's African Place also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Marco's African Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing