We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

Grand Africa Cafe & Beach
Ranked #172 of 1,288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 81
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cape Town's most desirable destination restaurant, Grand Africa Café & Beach embraces a free-spirited beach Cafe culture - the only one of its kind in Cape Town. Offering a unique experience the tactile decadence completes the trendsetting design offering a cafe style dining experience on the deck or beach with magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean and Robben Island.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Came with family for a mid-day lunch. Sat outside with the feet in the sand. Lovely location overlooking the water. Food was good (calamari, pizza, salmon). Grilled prawns didn’t work for us. Service (from Paul) was very good, despite some reviews that suggest otherwise. I’d definitely return and recommend to others.

Thank Cerrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharlenel2018, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for the the lovely feedback, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your day with us. I will send your feedback to the head chef on the prawns.
We look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We went here the day after me and wife got married . We looked for a place that could accommodate the family with nice food vibes and drinks . The food was excellent we all shared the meat and seafood platters and enjoyed some good glasses of red wine for sure . The staff were very good and attentive and made sure we all had what we wanted . Restaurant inside was very nice but we chilled by the sea .

Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharlenel2018, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you for joining us and the lovely feedback, we always enjoy hearing guests had a great time. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Was recommended by a friend for a chill out drink and dinner and was not disappointed! Fantastic cocktails on the beach area followed by dinner inside in the huge bar area. We were a walk up - if you want the best tables you probably need to book because it gets busy. Everyone enjoyed their meals ( I had a yummy burger) and the kids enjoyed their pizzas. Always a good sign. Expensive but a super nigh out in a safe locale

Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharlenel2018, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you for joining us and the lovely feedback. we hope you visit us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

A great find a bit hidden away on the edge of the water in Green Point lies this Grand Africa Cafe & Beach and grand it is. Several different places to be within one - indoors and outdoors to please all tastes. Tables and chairs sit on the sand and long bars adorn the background. Very tasty and easy to eat food and beautiful and artistic drinks that taste heavenly. Even the virgin versions. A very comfortable, imaginative and attractive setting, a wonderfully cool Cape Town place to hang out all day. And all night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paulinilund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharlenel2018, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for joining us and for the great feedback and compliments. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Nice location, but go for a sundowner and then go to a decent restaurant for dinner. Food is expensive but honestly rubbish, pizza tastes like it does when you reheat it the next day and you accidentally microwave for too long. Cheese all dry, hardly any toppings.

Plus service was poor, with multiple mistakes on the order.

As I said, go for a drink if you must, but then go eat somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SimonT3394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharlenel2018, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback, your concerns have been sent to our GM who will address these with the relevant staff, as we do take enormous pride in ur service and food quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Africa Cafe & Beach also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing