We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient and good value !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Kings Hotel
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great location central to CBD and Atlantic Seaboard. Very spacious rooms and most comfotable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast spread much larger than normal and really good ! Free parking a huge bonus in this congested area !

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe room - small price for a lot of additional space and a huge bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DieterKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    85
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
31
106
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Excellent location close to Cape Town CBD and Camps Bay.
Our room had a very nice view of the Lion's Head.
Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast is very good and offers a wide variety.
Free parking and Internet is included, although the internet speed is not very fast.
Can definitely recommend this hotel and since I travel often to Cape Town, I will consider staying at the same hotel next time.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandré S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arona, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We chose the New Kings Hotel after thorough research and discussions, since we booked our flights several months in advance in this instance. As usual Tripadvisor was a key part of this process. We considered location, room size and comfort, having several services included in the rate (breakfast, parking, wifi) and value for money. We also emailed the hotel directly and Marilu (the Manager) was extremely nice in all instances.The hotel is integrated in a small shopping mall, which includes a couple of supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. We spent our first night at the Thai restaurant downstairs and it was great. Breakfast was more than adequate (hot and cold options, tropicl fruits etc), considering it is included in the rate. Though we were there for a week, there were plenty of options to have a varied diet. Our (deluxe) room was very spacious, with wooden floors, a bath and a large shower, two washbasins and we had both mountain and seaview. Some noise (traffic, delivery lorries) but nothing unbearable (and I am a light sleeper). All very modern, well appointed and efficient. The location worked out to be one of the best in Cape Town: you are 2 minutes walk to the beach, close to the city, but at the same time in a nice community - Seapoint - just a few minutes drive to the best sights Cape Town can offer (Table Mountain, the Waterfront and Camps Bay). Some really good restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. Plenty of shopping options in the area too. The hotel staff was always gracious and helpful. The free parking was a great bonus, since there is limited public parking in the area. The Red City Sightseeing bus stops 100m from the hotel: we bought the 2 days red and blue line tickets online and it was great value and thoroughly enjoyed the tours. Other things we recommend: Afternoon tea at Mount Nelson (a bit touristy, but great), shopping at the V&A Waterfront, trip to Robben Island, Sunset Table Mountain Cablecar plus dinner (great value for money), visit to the Cape Town Ostrich ranch, a day trip to Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope. Try the Opal Lounge restaurant. Cape Town is an absolutely fantastic city, with so much to do and see. The New Kings Hotel is a great hotel to consider. We were there for 7 days and we just didn't want to leave. We hope we'll be back soon!! Thank you to Marilu and her staff for making our first visit to the Cape so unforgettable!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Rooms, more spacious (you can easily add an extra bed) and lovely with a choice of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed 5 nights at New Kings and it was the perfect way to wrap up our bustling tour of Southern Africa.

Our room was spacious and well-appointed. We loved: the super comfortable bed, our view of the ocean, the huge bath tub, the french press coffee in our room (!!), and all of the other perks that came with our room.

The buffet breakfast was pretty extensive, so there's something for everyone. This was helpful since we had breakfast here 5 days in a row! You can enjoy breakfast while looking out onto a beautiful ocean view. Gorgeous!

The location of New Kings is great. It's close to the water and close to the M6 that leads to the key tourist spots. Plus, it's located in a complex with other shops and restaurants (try Simply Asia for quick and good Thai food).

Especially considering the price, which included breakfast and internet, I would love to stay here if I'm in Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EffBee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you travel with a gps, it might be hard to find (on my gps it was positioned as Regent Street [on M61], while both Regent Road and Regent Street were on the other side of the city, on a 20-30 km distance! It took me 2,5 hrs to get there (having a wrong gps puts you finally in a worse position than with no gps at all), useless to say I was very angry, but the hotel is simply perfect and made me forget everything!
The room is big, comfortable, nice, quiet, beautiful view over a mountain. Wonderful bed and shower, separate toilet, A/C, TV-sat, huge delicious breakfast in a nice room with a sea-view, friendly helpful staff, very comfortable free private parking in the mall, comfortable with mall shops, very close to all sorts of restaurants and bars on Main Road.
The wi-fi is available (also through a computer at the reception) but extremely slow, there is just one small elevator, complimentary mineral water/coffee/tea is valid just for the first day (if you stay more days, they will not be replaced). One night the fire alarm rang: a terrible noise and recorded voice firmly inviting all guests to evacuate the building! Funny to meet all the other guests scared but still half asleep in the staircase (the elevator was out of order)... the manager met us halfway and just said to go back to sleep, that it was just a fake alarm, not to worry etc. etc. Not a formal excuse or anything else the next day...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francescabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.5 km away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#102 of 198 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.9 km away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#83 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.4 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#100 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kings Hotel

Property: New Kings Hotel
Address: Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,631 - ₹ 17,972
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your New Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kings Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing