We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Fabulous stay here in April 2012.
Wonderful welcome, - having arrived early morning our room was made immediately available to us.What a good choice we made regarding an island room especially as we were staying for 8 nights. it was exceptionally comfortable, good quality furniture/bedding/ toiletries.
I loved the spaciousness of the property, the gardens and pool area were impeccably maintained.
The breakfasts were of such high quality, including a waiter served 'la a carte' menu at no extra cost.(eggs benedict, smoked salmon, oysters, champagne, etc).
Do make use of the concierge they were so helpful - as were all of the hotel front staff.
Its also in a perfect location just minutes away from the harbour and many excellent restaurants(try Sevruga, Belthazar, Den Anker or take a taxi into town for an Indian at Bukhara)
For a high level of service and some pampering just choose it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Table Mountain view rooms in the hotel were in the shade. if you choose an Island room ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesmondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    199
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
395
738
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Gorgeous view of the majestic Table Mountain. Comfy bed, delicious pillows & linens. Incredible staff from beginning to end. Thank you Gisella & thank you Chantel for the best facial, at the spa. Wonderful, decadent breakfasts at Reubens. A divine experience.

Room Tip: Our room faced Table Mountain which is an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a very comfortable stay in our island suite.

There were many positives, many of which have been covered well in other reviews. Excellent location. Staff keen to serve and rooms furnished high standard. I agree with them all.

The island rooms are not quite as isolated as the name might suggest, and there are some minor privacy compromises. The rooms near the pool are convenient but suffer some noise from late night revellers. The advantages out weight the disadvantages for me, it is hard to beat sitting on your balcony overlooking water having a drink after the sun passes over the yard arm.

Rubens is a standard international hotel restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. That's a little unfair, it does both jobs well and stands comparison with cafes in excellent hotels the world over. Nothing special though.

Nobu is a good Japanese restaurant. In some ways that is a little surprising because of the stellar Nobu brand name. It does not quite reach the heights of the other Nobu family restaurants I have visited, but is a lively and well priced destination restaurant.

So what was the one problem. On our confirmation check out time was 12 noon. The hotel check out is (a quite mean) 11am. From 9 am the housekeeping staff were banging on the door to try to get into the room. I complained and I have no doubt that the management will prevent this happening in future, but watch out for the early checkout time. To be fair we arrived at the hotel early at 1pm and our room was ready.

The conclusion. I would look forward to staying here again on any visit to South Africa.

Room Tip: The pool can be noisy at night stay clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RallyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glossop
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wow what a beautiful hotel - which really lives up to its name. A warm welcome and very helpful staff made our first (but not last) visit to Cape Town very special. The view from the bar, the stunning rooms, the beautiful pool and canals took our breath away. Very special place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast at Rueben's, located at The One & Only Cape Town.

Friendly welcome and good service. Nice lighting and carpeted floors, creates a warm and cosy ambience.

I enjoyed the Eggs Royale - Country loaf topped with salmon, poached eggs and spinach.

Hubby enjoyed a cooked omelette with salmon, cream cheese and mozzarella.

We also had some pastries and fruits, which was divine. The lattes and cappuccinos were great.

It was the prefect start to our day and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zubayda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
0.9 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,181 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,505 reviews
0.4 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.4 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): ₹ 37,919 - ₹ 1,70,669
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing