We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is superbly located in the Waterfront area (much better in my opinion than staying in the busier city areas). We stayed in the main building with a superb view of table mountain. The rooms are large with everything you'd expect of a hotel such as this. The bathroom is open plan with the wardrobes located in the bathroom. Just be careful not to put the shower on full blast as it is a wet room style and the floor area beyond the shower floor can also get wet. The rails in the wardrobes are not the best for long dresses and we had to ask for more coat hangers which were brought almost immediately.
We ate breakfast on our balcony most mornings which was delivered at the requested time at a tray charge of just 300 rand (approx £3) which is pretty good when comparing other hotels for this service. The staff are very obliging throughout the hotel.
We didn't eat in the restaurants here so can't comment on those.
Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking table mountain and looking at the canal and one with a large balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    197
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
383
720
42
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We took a group of managers here (total 13). From the start when we arrived, we were looked after and treated like VIP's. Well located right next to the water front and views of table mountain to die for. Nobu restaurant is a must if you are into sushi! The best we have had (besides in Japan, but how can anyone compete?) My wife said she had the oysters and that these were the best she had ever had. Breakfast in the morning was superb and coming down and being greeted by the staff and making you feel extra special just made the whole trip a top stay! Our room was superb and so where those of our managers. Everyone raved about how great the hotel was and kept on asking us why we left South Africa to move to Sweden. So a good place to stay. Vista lounge with high tea in the afternoon was also a every day must. The only complaint? They ran out of brandy, which sure, with 13 people drinking the same brandy could maybe be expected that they would run low, but I did not expect this from a hotel of this standard to actually run out, but generally all round it was excellent and maybe we were drinking too much as we were enjoying ourselves too much?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We went to the Only and Only in Cape Town, and it is must. Wonderful hotel, excellent accommodation, really good food, and the staff are very helpful. Right next to a beautiful marina, and close to all the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetMarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
391 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Excellent location near/on the Waterfront, yet very quiet rooms (we had a Table Mountain facing room in the main building). Stayed for 4 nights. The overall service was really very good, with exceptional friendly and efficient concierge assistance from Linda and a wonderful Chris Noone (his Cape Town restaurant recommendations are spot on ... see separate reviews). Only remark about the rooms is the rather complex way to operate the TV but hey, that's just detail. We had breakfast daily at Rueben's, and it was sumpteous and of excellent quality, with friendly service at all times. Wonderful pool and pool area, although it tends to get a bit overcrowded, with the usual mess of left/dropprd towels , though staff tries hard to clean-up after guests. Wonderful gym ... one of the best hotel gyms I have ever come accross anywhere. We did not use the Spa. Oddly enough (and as remarked elsewhere), hotel security is at the same time inexistant as entry from the rear is wide open e.g. via the waterway boat tour landing platform and quite tight as elevator access is restricted to your own floor, 1st (for the gym), ground floor and basement.
We found the overall quality of rooms, facilities and service marvellous.
We will definitely return when in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is Definately the best hotel in Cape Town. The rooms are massive and the hotel is in a great area. You can walk down to the waterfront very safely. We stayed there for 10 nights, we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: All the rooms are extremely big
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.9 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.4 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.8 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,621 - ₹ 89,400
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing