We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to eat healthy and yummy? Eat here!”
Review of Cafe Sofia

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Sofia
Ranked #973 of 1,299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The food was first class. The deco was still Christmas...not bad... but in March?
Still, I would choose to eat there again!

Date of visit: March 2013
Thank Finhansa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

Cafe Sofia in Big Bay has been the worst culinary experience I've EVER had! Being a lover of spanish tapas, I was bitterly disappointed at the quality of the food, and the tasteless dishes served. Service was slow and some of the dishes we ordered were not available because "the kitchen hadnt started preparing the next batch"!!!!

Thank NadiaS256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Cafe Sofia is okay, their food is nothing amazing and the breakfast is cheap though but basic. I think they are a bit pricey for the standard kind of food they have to offer.

Date of visit: December 2012
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Cafe Sofia: Blaauwberg: What a heartache this must be for such a beautifull setting of our beautifull Cape Town!!Went there on 03/10/12 after a beautifull walk on the beach with family visiting. What we hoped would be turned out to be a treat turned out to be actually a horror. Don't bother ordering the tapas as this is so little food that you will still be hungry when you leave. I ordered a salad with my meat and only received some leaves with feta. After asking the waiter, she went to found out from the kitchen and guess what: that they ran our of cucumber and tomatoes! But excuse me: isn't that sort of the main ingredient in salad. Fish of the day (yellowtail) was so-so, sushi was so-so, only thing ok was the steak. when we wanted to pay we were told that there card machine wasn't working. Ok, but why did you not say any thing about that before we sat down? Sorry but for a place being so expensive maybe they should have a good look and see what is happening. Come on guys you can make this a great place to eat.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TertiaTerblancheL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

our waiter was disapointing but the manager made it worse by shouting and berating him in public. good location, you can see the mountain if you sit in one of the front tables

Thank luckyme30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sofia also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Sofia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing