We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - but beds too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Located in the main city center next to pedestrian zone this hotel is a lot better than other HIE hotels. The outside building is not too nice to look at, but from inside it is very modern, absolutely clean and a good hotel to start a trip in south africa with. Unlike many others we found the hotel quickly, however I would like to recommend the hotel management to add just one more sign (corner longmarket street and hotel access street), this can be indeed tricky. From the hotel you can walk even to the waterfront (15 min to walk; 5 min by car), banks, shops, restaurants are around. the hotel offers self underground or valet parking (both at same price) with is excellent as parking in the area would be difficult. After 5 p.m. it gets quiet on the "road", we felt very safe during daytime, however at night do not walk. Make sure you go to Restaurant Doppio Zero, just opposite hotel, we loved this place and the excellent food. The free hotel breakfast is very good, there are 5 tables on the patio to sit outside, service at breakfast is a bit slow. the rooms are a bit small, still ok, but the biggest issue are the small beds. sorry, but these are far to small for 2!!! This is however - the only negative point of the hotel, I would go there again, especially considering that it is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

I was delighted to read your positive comments about our hotel and especially the positive comments about location and the proximity to the pedestrian zone.

Our objective is to provide the very best service at a reasonable price and I am pleased that our hotel suited your needs. Your comments regarding our breakfast are also well appreciated.

Regarding the beds, we have rooms with one double bed or two 3/4 beds. I find guests that find our beds too small often prefer the two bed option.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 511 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is situated in an excellent location! It is close walking distance to everything downtown and very reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet is very nice. They have valet parking which is helpful and reassuring. The staff is very helpful and nice. Like other reviews, it can be a little tricky to find (it took us driving around the block several times before we found it) but that is its biggest downfall. Rooms are pretty big and clean! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that your stay was comfortable and that your experience of our hotel was a positive one.

Our location is right in the hub of Cape Town with all facilites within walking distance.

Improvements have recently been made to our internet service and it is very fast and reliable with 30MG free daily.

I do hope we can be of service to you in the future when you are next in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

right on st georges mall within easy walking of shopping and bars and eating. very clean and a helpful, friendly staff. if you are not staying at the beach, stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTerry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Very good value for the price. Spotlessly clean everywhere, good bathroom facilities and excellent breakfast buffet, although the lack of variety with the hot food could become a little boring if staying for a week or more. Good, central location, with excellent valet parking (R50/day) if you are driving. Very pleasant and helpful staff, who seemed ready to go the extra mile if asked. Will recommend and will certainly use again when next in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'quiet room' and although you will face out onto other buildings, you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredTraveller225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel dueing your recent stay.

Our location and proximity to shopping centres and stalls certainly give our guests an advantage when staying ot our Hotel. Thank you for the comments relating to our employees and I was pleased to note that you found our team accommodating and helpful.

We hope to see you in our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The hotel was of a higher standard than a UK Holiday Inn Express. Excellent value for money. Small comfortable room and centrally located. A 20/25 minute walk to V&A Waterfront. Very good hot and cold buffet style breakfast included. Market/restaurants and fast food outlets immediately outside and area perfectly safe to walk around during the day. After dark I would not recommend venturing too far on foot from the hotel. Although mainly a business hotel, it met our requirements as a base for day trips out and about and provided a more than comfortable place to return to at the end of the day. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Many thanks for your very positive review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that you found our location to a distinct advantage.
More and more of our regular guests are finding our location and services offered to be of benefit to them, making their stay convenient and trouble free.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
863 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 4,906 - ₹ 8,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing