We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome addition to the Cape Town food scene”
Review of Mulberry & Prince

Mulberry & Prince
Ranked #470 of 1,294 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 April 2017

You should go in knowing, that your dinner and drinks will be pricey. Mulberry & Prince however, offers a unique culinary experience.
The restaurant itself is beautiful in its design and has a very NYC feel to it. A friend and I happened upon it one evening and were initially told we may not get seated without a reservation. The friendly hostess, however, tried her best to accomodate us and eventually we were seated.
You order various dishes (to share) and each dish comes individually. I believe this is what makes the experience so unique - you really get the complete taste and richness of flavour by having one dish at a time. Sharing also enhances the dining experience and allows to taste multiple things.
If you're looking for something traditional - try another place. But if you're feeling adventurous and don't mind splurging, definitely go to M&P.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ibti_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

34 - 38 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Mulberry & Prince is a stunning modern restaurant!

The menu is short and sweet with 3 starters and 8 stunning mains to choose from. Every dish is more beautiful and delicious than the previous...our table shared the whole menu so I can honestly say everthing tastes as delicious as perfectly presented!

My favourites were the salty sardine fillets in a crispy chip on a horseradish creme...the drunken pecorino on chicory was a taste and flavour explosion and of course the ribeye with black garlic cooked to perfection melting in the mouth! The beef tartare was extraordinary as it was made from sirlion and had grated cured yolk on top!

The desserts were creamy and smooth panna cotta topped with honeycome and sundried apricot (sorry no photo as I finished that before taking a pic) and a smooth chocolate cream that was rich but not overly sweet..it had gorgeous fresh peppermint in!

The service was great- we had 2 lovely young guys that were friendly, efficient and quick! I adored the fact that they paired the wines with our dishes...the chefs' recommendation and it worked beautifully! A must next time you are in Cape Town!

3  Thank Vicky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

A venue with a great location, and obviously a great deal of good work went into the restoration and renovation. An attractive restaurant that one expects by its interesting name and reputation to be contemporary and modern in its approach. Sadly a return visit here was again challenging. Great looking lighting, but difficulty experienced by us all in trying to read the menu and wine list. The menus is seasonal and concise yet even in the most contemporary UK (for example) venues today, there would be at least a couple of items that (and we were not expecting 'comfort food'), were uncomplicated, not the case here. Simply too adventurous (most specially when once again using it for business entertainment). Well intentioned and yes one of the party loved the panna cotta, but frankly too complicated, and the end result of our dishes were not satisfying. Unfortunately the wine and drinks list, is so obscure and limited with some really odd choices (surely a couple of good recognisable wines would not make it mundane?). Not sure if this is a case of 'trying too hard', but sadly won't be back in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

If you want a real culinary experience, where the food is out of this world, this is the restaurant for you. Most of the dishes are unique and must take a lot of time to prepare. We liked the "share a plate concept" because you can taste most of the dishes without it costing a fortune. The ingredients, combinations and presentation are only possible if you have very creative chefs. Congratulations to the two chefs who succeeded in bringing to Cape Town something very special only real food lovers will be able to enjoy. The interior of the restaurant is very romantic and complements the wonderful food. I see some people complain, but that is not our experience. But then again, taste is not for everybody to be blessed with. Wil

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank wil09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly disappointed by the poor service and value received tonight at Mulberry & Prince. Moving the goalposts at the outset by quoting us corkage charges telephonically and then refusing to honor same. Waiting staff that clearly feel like they have more pressing things to do and more important people to see than the plebs that are paying WELL over a thousand rand for dinner for three. And extortionate prices... An unnamed gin and tonic at the bargain price of over R 100 a drink... Well ripped off.

1  Thank Celest L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MulberryandPrinceCT, Owner at Mulberry & Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hello Celest,

We take pride in our wine selection and therefore BYOB is not permitted. There must have been a misunderstanding regarding our policy and your interpretation that BYOB is allowed.

We have never had an issue with the waitress you had that evening. Could you perhaps let us know where it is that she went wrong so that we may address it? Feedback is always helpful.

As for the gin and tonic, on our beverage list (which was on your table) it clearly states that we serve a 'Empire G&T' listed R70. Empire gin is a local made craft gin. We use 'Barker and Quin' a small batch natural local tonic. Both are superior quality products which aren't cheap, so R70 for a single shot G&T using all local products is reasonable. That evening the gentlemen at your table ordered 4 DOUBLE SHOT G&T's which then made the drinks R105 each (R35 standard cost per shot of this particular gin in Cape Town).

I apologize if you felt ripped off, but there are no hidden charges on our menu.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mulberry & Prince also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town

Been to Mulberry & Prince? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing