We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous base from which to explore Cape Town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bayleaf Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
64margare...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A fabulous base from which to explore Cape Town”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

10 of us, which included 6 family members from the UK, stayed at the Bayleaf for 7 days and without exception everyone of us would go back again. Apart from its ideal location the property is tastefully furnished and beautifully maintained. Shirley could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Victoria and Virginia also went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Would highly recommend the Bay Leaf to anyone wanting to have a beach holiday (Camps Bay is stunning) and explore Cape Town and its surrounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helene r
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Amazing time with young children”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Thank you for such a nice time at the Bayleaf.. Already thinking to come back next year.. It is perfectly located, walking distance to the beach, supermarket, post, tennis court, cafés and restaurants... Nice family atmosphere.. Shirley answers all your requests in a matter of seconds... and even precedes your needs or wishes..
(We only rented out the two extra rooms downstairs which the small kitchen as a guesthouse).
You feel at ease and at home at the Bayleaf Villa...as simple as that!

Liked best: Home feeling
Liked least: the small american kitchen corner but still ok..
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen O
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Stunning Villa in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our family/friends, party of 7 adults chose ‘The Bayleaf ‘in Camps Bay for 9 days as our Base for our son’s wedding on the 28th February 2014 in the Western Cape.
The ‘Bay leaf’ Villa was the perfect location for our party, 5 bedrooms & 5 bathrooms. The bedrooms were very large, beautifully furnished. The kitchen bright and roomy with every conceivable utensil, a spacious dining and living room with emphasis on comfort and space, also a TV room which we did not use. A front garden with ‘Pool ‘and sun beds/chairs, together with secure parking for our Minibus. Virginia is the heart and soul of the Bayleaf, a lovely lady who took care of all our daily laundry, and cleaning. Virginia with her lovely smile had a ‘can do ‘attitude. One of the three ‘fridges developed a fault, Virginia called the proprietor, Shirley Engers, Shirley arrived with a technician within 20 minutes, problem solved. We asked Shirley how much we should pay for daily laundry, Shirley suggested we should pay Virginia 300/400 Rand (€20/27), can you believe it?.. for 9 days, 7 Persons
The ‘Bayleaf Villa ‘is 3 minutes from the beach/promenade, with superb restaurants/supermarket.
Camps Bay is the place to stay, the ‘Bayleaf ‘is the business. just book it, you will not be disappointed. We cannot wait to return to South Africa, a stunning country, with a genuine warm welcome, exceptional value and service. - Jerry O'Riordan & gang!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
679imi201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lemon Tree Room”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at the bayleaf for 4 days in December, the host Shirley was lovely, the accommodation was top quality, we were welcomed by Shirley who settled us in and provided us with everything we needed and more, the location of the Villa is literally 2 minutes away from the beach, and with a vast choice of restaurants within a stones throw. We would happily recommend both the Villa and Shirley and in fact will be revisiting in 2014!!!! if you are in two minds about booking, dont be, both host and room were top notch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to the beach
Liked least: Shirley, she was an excellent host
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennynort...
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the Bayleaf in the beautiful Camps Bay Area. On our first morning Shirley the owner took us for a little walk to show us where we were to eat breakfast and show us the beach and recommend her favourite restaurant. Basically we were guests in her villa and she couldn't do enough for us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;