We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Place on the Bay
Nearby Hotels
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 165
US$ 135
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Primi Seacastle Guest House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 214
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 264
US$ 246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 490
US$ 338
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camps Bay Retreat(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
US$ 97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 302
US$ 252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
136
126
36
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
126
36
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingcape townbars and restaurantsideal locationstudio apartmentself cateringfully equipped kitchensea viewopposite the beachmain bedroomtable mountainsmall poolthoroughly enjoyed our staystayed here for nightssea frontrooms are spaciousamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

the place offers good comfort and cleaness.
It is a serlf catering place, with many reataurants next door.
No need to buy breakfast vouchers, although they can easily be used
for dinner etc. The breakfast starts however shortly after 8 am
which is somewhat late for some early startiong tours
Our apartement was overvieving the ocean
a small in house swimming pool and a cafdfe room
for free coffee makes stay even more enjopyable

Stayed: January 2018
Thank annebrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the review. We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Location is great right on the ocean front with easy access to everything. The drawback of that is quite a bit of noise from the street. The place is large and comfortable but in need of renovation. The receptionist mentioned that plans are being put in place to tear down the old building and erect a new one. Daily cleaning is a plus and wifi is fine.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the review. We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

The accommodation on its own was very nice. We were right on the main camps bay strip, which is exactly what we wanted, so we were close enough to walk to the restaurants down the road. The room was clean and tidy, the view was stunning, a full view of the beachfront. It was a small self catering apartment which gave us nice flexibility when deciding if we were going to eat in or out. Our room had a full glass roof, with blinds that you could pull back to open or close to keep the sun out.

Unfortunately there was no lift or easy access to our room, which was not a problem on a normal day, but when moving luggage in and out it was slightly more difficult.

Parking was safe and secure which is great!

If you are looking for comfortable, central accommodation in camps bay. This is the place to be!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank T7402ORsimones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Simones
Thank you for staying with us and appreciate your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The location of the apartments is perfect. It is in front of the beach and it has a lovely swimming pool. The apartment and studio are very well furnished and prepared to receive more people. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulasabrinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Paula SabrinaC
Thank you for staying with us an the review. We appreciate your feedback. Yes, Place on the bay offers a 5 star position being right on the Camps bay beach.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The manager did phenomenally well to rectify a mistake which was made with our booking. She came across as honest and committed to our comfort.

Just a note on the maintenance of the outside area of the penthouse: Some maintenance seems to be overdue, e.g. the wooden deck caused wooden splinters in the children's feet.
The pot-plants had cigarette buts from previous quests.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christoff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the review. We note the concerns pertaining to the penthouse confirm that this has been addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews