We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, B&B needs some TLC”
Review of Villa Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sunshine
Ranked #2 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Good location, B&B needs some TLC”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We made a booking using AsiaRooms.com and were mislead regarding the price per night as well as services provided. Lady at AsiaRooms quoted us 450-00 rands per night initially and the second I agreed to go ahead with the booking she changed the price from 450-00 to 550-00. Now I did not have time to look further as I was flying out later that day already so I still went ahead with the booking. We were also assured that a wifi internet connection was complimentary at the B&B, this was not the case when we arrived. The location of the B&B is perfect for all running around in central Cape Town. The rooms themselves are in desperate need of renovation. Bathroom was worn and looked dirty. Floors had also not been cleaned for a while. Walking barefoot on the tiles was not pleasant at all. The kettle in the room was not working either.

As our stay was only 3 nights we did not bother wasting our holiday to look for an alternative place to stay at, but we will not be returning to the same B&B again. We also found the rating system to be unreliable as this place in our view is not anywhere near 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    63
    14
    2
    10
See reviews for
29
77
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Had a great stay and I was very happy with the comfortable room, decent sized bathroom and intimate patio. The staff and Manager in particular -Ulandi, was very accommodating, friendly and professional. Great base to explore all that Cape Town has to offer, near the beach and loads of shops and restaurants nearby. Pool area was very relaxing too. Highly recommended for a great, safe and comfortable stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulandi C, Front Office Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Hi Bert and Chris,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was a pleasure meeting you and I appreciate your review. I hope you come back to us on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Airport pickup did not turn up - when we finally arrived at hotel (at additional taxi expense) & brought to owners attention he responded with extreme brusqueness implying it was our fault.The room was tired and barely cleaned. Staff ( including owner & spouse) rude and unhelpful.

Whatever organisation monitors tourist accomodation in Cape Town should investigate this establishment. Its advertised star rating is a joke.

(BTW - the rest of our stay in South Africa was superb and lived up to expectations - highly recommend the Garden Route and Natal)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeeJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights and thought it was perfect. Close to great restaurants, the beach and fantastic views of table mountain. Would recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very welcoming and almost like your own lilttle space for a few nights. Great sounds from the beach nearby, cozy porch made private by a clever curtain, super comfy beds, clean, and very hospitable staff and owner. Staff helped us get a car (sorry to say you will want one). Breakfast was included and we enjoyed it, cheeses, jams, eggs to your liking, toast, tea, bacon, etc. They may ask you what time you'd like it fresh and hot! The team inquires that you are comfortable, if you need help planning, and to ensure your stay is great!
I ran each am along the beachfront and we walked the first 2 nights in the area. It is residential but parking was easy. You can walk for some dinner in Sea Point but Camp's bay not. You can take the shuttle from the bottom of the hill @ water front to the V&A, but really, I strongly recommend a car.
We were lucky enough to have a few nights as the only guests. You could possibly hear your neighbors, but everyone was respectful and kept things quiet. The only improvement was a personal opinion that the shower pressure could have been better.

Room Tip: Look behind you to see Table Mountain :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.2 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
283 reviews
0.2 km away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
949 reviews
3.2 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
0.6 km away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
260 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sunshine

Property: Villa Sunshine
Address: 1 Rochester Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,080 - ₹ 11,103
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sunshine is a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town. The city centre; Table Mountain, The V&A Waterfront and the International Convention Centre are all within a 5km radius. Beaches and Restaurants are within walking distance. Our 7 en-suite rooms are exquisitely furnished, equipped with all the necessary amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our rates also include a delicious continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sunshine Cape Town/Bantry Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing