We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had the absoloute pleasure of spending two nights at The Palace of the Lost City at the end of April . The Hotel is opulent with beautifully maintained gardens and pool areas . Rooms are large and possibly bathrooms seem a little dated but this may be the look the creators went for. Service is outstanding , from the moment you arrive each and every interaction with all the Hotel staff is special.Whoever does their training needs to be commended . I can Highly recommend a few days of total Rest and Relaxation in this special place . If you need some bright lights and buzz there is always Sun City just down the road.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,245 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Maybe we were lucky, but we got upgraded for no reason we knew, and our rooms were spectacular. This place is gorgeous. We had only a brief stay but there is tons to do on the resort and nearby. The safari in the Pilanesberg Nat'l Park was awesome. Golf with baboons, interesting. The service was more than wonderful. I'd return anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

what a place - right from the get go when you walk in to the hotel you get a Kings Welcome. The architecture, the location, the restaurants, the food, the swimming pool, the amenities, everything is King size - and Royal.

The breakfast spread is one of the best that we have had so far. All the staff treat you like royalty and are welcoming and helpful in nature.

The hotel is only open to invited guests and those staying in the hotel, which makes it an exclusive place.

Don't forget to check out the views from the kings tower 9th floor - its a secret elevator that takes you to the top - you need to ask the concierge how to get there.

It was the highlight of the trip to South Africa !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manu789US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was completely gob smacked by your personal touch, the professionalism of all your staff and the quality of service including at porter level. The breakfast at The Palace is world class.

Sabrina – your personal gesture to source me the correct cable for my hard drive from your house late at night was beyond expectations.

Nico – your warmth during check-in, meal times and check-out was amazing.

My kids have been raving about our weekend there and have become Sun City’s best ambassadors. I look forward to seeing you guys again in October when we bring our entire leadership team at Discovery to Sun City for our annual leadership conference.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

From the moment you step out of your car in the driveway you are made to feel welcome and special by friendly and capable staff. The staff were all most helpful and professional. They went about their jobs with pride and joy. The service and facilities at the resort were all of the highest standard. There is a feeling of absolute luxury all about the place with so much attention to the finest details in the interior design, layout and architecture. The concierge staff were very well trained, informed and possessed excellent communication skills. You felt like your requests were always placed in good hands. I was never dissapointed. It was a stay I will never forget and I would like to come back some time. I have raved about it to all my friends as being the highlight of my stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
646 reviews
3.8 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
843 reviews
1 km away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#5 of 6 in Sun City
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
695 reviews
39.8 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
2.5 km away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: ₹ 17,267 - ₹ 36,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing