We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
212
14
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
14
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush lodge small hill long table steep steps large dining table game drives watering hole endless patience chef johnny stone steps mini bar course dinner water hole sun loungers other guests sa trip small number
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Family atmosphere, very dedicated and knowledgeable guides!
Beautiful view from chalets, which are on the hill of 135 steps height. Take your binocular !! Game drives were amazing! All guides are very friendly, Shawn-manager
and guide is extremely dedicated and carrying.
Family style dinning en carriage people to meet and exchange there daily experiences.

Room tip: The best view is top of the hill. # 14, 15
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic stay in the most wonderful lodge, and not only that but superb value for money. We wanted to go on safari whilst visiting South Africa and considering revisiting the legendary Sabi Sands where we had been 20 years previously but were recommended Tshukudu Bush Lodge by friends and are so pleased with our choice as it enabled us to squeeze some golf in at Sun City too! Can’t praise the staff highly enough - Shane our guide was exceptional, so enthusiastic it was such a pleasure to spend time with him on the drives. He takes finding all you want to see as a challenge & hates not to deliver! Sean the boss is great company and a delightful host who makes sure everything works like clockwork. All the staff can’t do enough to please and the chefs serve the most wonderful food. The location is amazing and the accommodation utterly charming. The game drives were fantastic and we saw all of the animals we could ever hope to have seen and in great numbers. We had been worried that it would seem over crowded as it is a small reserve next to Sun City and whilst the drives weren’t as intimate and peaceful as private lodges in the Kruger the experience was not spoilt by too many other vehicles. If you want to go on safari in Pilansberg and you can I would stay here every time. It’s the best and a fraction of the price of a similar exclusive lodge in Sabi Sands. Just go!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vinny-The-Kid-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Tshukudu is located inside the Pilanesberg National Park, close to Jo'berg. Because of the elevation it is malaria free. It is truly an amazing experience. We saw the big five in one day. There was a warm welcome when we arrived. Number of people at the lodge is small - great isn't it? Dinner is for all the the same time at a long table. Food is ok, except the oxt tail, which was great. Staff is highly motivated, paying attention to detail and friendly. So are the rangers, who had a big contribution to the amazing game drives. We have been to lodges before, but this truly a special one. The stairs have been mentioned. They are breathtaking, but it is worth the effort. ;-))
A highlight of our SA trip!

Room tip: Rooms with higher numbers are higher up, which is good.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreatFoodandGoodWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn C, General Manager at Tshukudu Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

HI there,
Thank you so much for your amazing review
Yes - the stairs are breathtaking but then so is the view
We are truly pleased that you had such a good time with us
and that you enjoyed our very special ox-tail
We are very lucky to be inside the Pilanesburg National Park
Which is so incredibly beautiful - full of special animals
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Miss Shawn Catterall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Our stay at Tshukudu Bush Lodge was everything we could have asked for and more. From first arriving to when we had to leave a few days later Shawn and the rest of the team were amazing. The lodge has amazing views looking out over a watering hole and some days you didn't even need to leave to see elephants, lions, zebras and more.

The day consisted of a very early start for our first game drive of the day, which was 100% worth the early alarm as soon as you saw your first animals of the day. Shawn was fantastic at taking us all over the park to find the animals that everyone wanted to see. After the first game drive it was breakfast and either lazing by the pool or a nap so that we were ready to go for the afternoon drive where yet again we saw more animals and took hundreds of photos. This was then topped off with a 5 course dinner each night (it was lucky that there were so many steps to climb to get to the lodge as that was my only exercise to burn off the masses amount of food I was eating)

Overall our stay was absolutely amazing and I couldn't recommend Tshukudu highly enough to anyone that was thinking of going on a safari. Thank you to everyone that made our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn C, General Manager at Tshukudu Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Hannah,
You know the stairs are there for a reason , he he - Thank you for your review
It was such a pleasure to host you - and we had so much fun
The animals came out for us - thank goodness
Thank you for all the compliments
It is the Tshukudu Team's passion to look after our guests and make sure they have an amazing time in the bush
And we hope to see you soon for some more fun and animals
Warm Regards
Miss Shawn Catterall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Right from the beginning, Shawn made us feel like being part of the family. From pickup to meals, the game drive experience of what feels like a hundred years, the making of the room a few times a day totally in the background. We all loved being there all of the time. Originally, my wife and I just wanted a remote place to relax totally stress-free and do absolutely nothing except looking through the binoculars into the wildlife that roams just in front of our little chalet. We endet up missing just three of the 10 offered game drives during our stay, because it was so much fun doing them while still being able to relax. PERFECT. It takes a lot of experience to give the people exactly what they want, but our hosts just nailed it from the start. We will always remember this as the best vacation of the kind whenever we look at the astonishing pictures we got to take.

Room tip: All rooms have are excellent. No need to pick. There are 132 steps to climb twice a day every day. Good for most ;-)
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samthepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn C, General Manager at Tshukudu Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Good evening ,
Whow - I am at a loss for words - such a glowing review - a huge big thank you - I am so pleased that we "nailed it" he he - it is of the utmost importance that we do just that - our guests comfort is paramount - and we love what we do - enjoy your pics and maybe like our Facebook page and get more pics - of all our amazing sightings
Warm Regards
Miss Shawn Catterall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews