We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
397
266
90
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
266
90
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground tunnelsun cityunderground hidegame driveswatering holewater holeboma braaitennis courtsown vehiclethe reservegreat resortdinner buffetherd of elephantsclose proximitybush lodgegame parkspent days
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We had 24 hours to show an overseas visitor a piece of South Africa outside of Sandton. Kwa Maritane offered a great last minute deal and we stayed in the Executive Rooms. They are top quality air conditioned rooms. We ate dinner on the deck and were visited by two elephants. Food (buffet) and service were very good. We self drove into the park on the afternoon of arrival; reception organized the permit very efficiently. We took the organized game drive in the morning. Between the two drives we saw a good amount of game including a lot of rhino, some elephants, giraffe, hippo, lions and a big variety of antelope.
Kwa Maritane is less than two hours from Pretoria and very convenient in every way

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JWT-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear JWT-1964

We are excited to see this wonderful feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is much appreciated.

We are elated to see that you were visited by the elephants during your dinner and are elated to see that you enjoyed the rooms, food and game drives.

Once again thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
Danniella Martin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The service left much to be desired. The service staff was slow and apathetic and when my kindle was stolen on the last day the front desk didn’t bother to return my call - I had to call back. Disappointed!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Craigielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Craigielee

We are saddened to read that you did not have a good experience while you were at the lodge.

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the level of service that you received, we most definitely strive for a higher level of service and strive for excellence.

Lastly we would like to thank you for bringing the above to our attention and will see to it that it gets attended to!

Kind Regards
Danniella Martin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Bush lodge is next to Sun city hotel resort in North West Province South Africa. The rooms are spacious and ensuite with clean towels and beddings. The restaurant has a wide variety of tasty meals and deserts. Breakfast is fantastic and caters for all needs. A place worth taking the family to for holidays away from the city life.

Room Tip: Book months ahead of your holiday as the place is always fully booked
Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gboyega O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Gboyega O

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated!

We are excited to see that you enjoyed all of the meals, the rooms, the location and your stay in general.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

World class setting, watch the game drinking at the watering holes whilst you eat....we were in the area over the weekend so spent Saturday visiting and lying by the main pool. This is one of our favorite visiting spots in the area and is definitely top drawer. Unfortunately lunch around the pool was from the bottom drawer..food was tough and tasteless, we paid premium and hoped for something good which was not the case, huge room for improvement Legacy Hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank garyh51904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear garyh51904

Thank you for writing this review with regards to your visit on Saturday to our lodge.

We are saddened to hear that the food was not good and we will most definitely investigate as to what happened and rectify the issue. We apologize for the experience that you had, but are glad to see that we are one of your favorite spots.

Thank you again for the review.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were a group of three adults and two children. We had two rooms each with two double beds. The kids liked the pools and the trampoline and the food at breakfast and dinner was very good. The afternoon games drives in Pilansberg were very good, though they could have started 30 minutes earlier as the last 45 minutes each day was spent travelling back to the lodge in darkness and we could see no animals. Also the morning game drive leaves at 5.30 am, which is a little early when on holiday. Wifi was OK in the common areas but you could not connect in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tdabbs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear tdabbs5

We are excited to see that you had a wonderful stay at our lodge and enjoyed some of the activities that the lodge has to offer such as the game drives, the trampoline and the pool.

We are aware that our internet/Wi-Fi connection and 3G is often very slow, erratic and difficult to connect to (especially if the hotel is busy), as being in the bush we have a 25Mb bandwidth, which is connected via a Telkom landline to Rustenburg. Our IT Department has made some alterations, which have shown a slight improvement, however they are still busy looking at alternate solutions to alleviate the congestion experienced and we hope that this issue will be resolved in the near future.

We will also take suggestion of changing the times of the game drives seriously and will look into this.

Lastly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews