We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
398
268
92
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
268
92
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground tunnel sun city underground hide game drives watering hole water hole boma braai tennis courts own vehicle the reserve great resort dinner buffet herd of elephants close proximity bush lodge game park spent days
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

World class setting, watch the game drinking at the watering holes whilst you eat....we were in the area over the weekend so spent Saturday visiting and lying by the main pool. This is one of our favorite visiting spots in the area and is definitely top drawer. Unfortunately lunch around the pool was from the bottom drawer..food was tough and tasteless, we paid premium and hoped for something good which was not the case, huge room for improvement Legacy Hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank garyh51904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear garyh51904

Thank you for writing this review with regards to your visit on Saturday to our lodge.

We are saddened to hear that the food was not good and we will most definitely investigate as to what happened and rectify the issue. We apologize for the experience that you had, but are glad to see that we are one of your favorite spots.

Thank you again for the review.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were a group of three adults and two children. We had two rooms each with two double beds. The kids liked the pools and the trampoline and the food at breakfast and dinner was very good. The afternoon games drives in Pilansberg were very good, though they could have started 30 minutes earlier as the last 45 minutes each day was spent travelling back to the lodge in darkness and we could see no animals. Also the morning game drive leaves at 5.30 am, which is a little early when on holiday. Wifi was OK in the common areas but you could not connect in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tdabbs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear tdabbs5

We are excited to see that you had a wonderful stay at our lodge and enjoyed some of the activities that the lodge has to offer such as the game drives, the trampoline and the pool.

We are aware that our internet/Wi-Fi connection and 3G is often very slow, erratic and difficult to connect to (especially if the hotel is busy), as being in the bush we have a 25Mb bandwidth, which is connected via a Telkom landline to Rustenburg. Our IT Department has made some alterations, which have shown a slight improvement, however they are still busy looking at alternate solutions to alleviate the congestion experienced and we hope that this issue will be resolved in the near future.

We will also take suggestion of changing the times of the game drives seriously and will look into this.

Lastly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We often stayed over in the Pilensburg Game Reserve at one of the smaller exclusive luxury lodges which falls in the Legacy Group, however we decided to stay over at Kwa-Maritane bush lodge as we were doing a late check in.

The hotel is a gem in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve. The accommodation is built to complement the special features within the resort. It is spread out in beautiful well-maintained gardens with scattered pools for relaxing. This resort has a four-star rating, it offers five-star standards.

Lovely ambience and beautiful views from the restaurant, which offers a superb selection on the evening Buffet. The breakfast meal is also good.

The staff are friendly but more attention on details would make a difference.

Overall good value for money in South Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURAR5816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Laura

We would like to take the opportunity to thank for writing this lovely review.

We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge including the food and the facilities that the lodge has to offer. We will most definitely take your suggestion with regards to attention to detail seriously and will address this with our staff.

Thank you once again for the review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We were at the lodge for 6 days and from the time we arrived till the time we left the experience was amazing. We stayed in room 177 which was stunning and the views from the balcony were outstanding - having the monkeys appear running around outside was something not to be missed and the herd of elephants walking past where the bull made a trumpet sound and the herd formed a circle to protect the little ones was a sight to behold. The hide is well worth a visit where rhino and hippos cane were a cool down. Being able to watch the waterhole on the screen of your TV in your room was addictive. The food was wonderful with lots of choice and drinks in the bar were very cheap. Every member of staff throughout the lodge were always so friendly and helpful and we’ve never stayed anywhere (and we’ve travelled extensively worldwide) where we were made to feel as though we were the most important guests they’d ever had. We did the safari every day but if you are doing the evening ones it gets very very cold so wear layers even a hat scarf and gloves and thick trousers (I’d even go as far to say buy some thermal underwear). The bush bbq was fun and the girl who was singing had an amazing voice. The food was amazing. Not many people swam in the pools and although the water was very cold it was lovely to have the pool to yourself. Mini golf great fun and watching warthogs and impalas walk by made it a better experience. The whole stay was so relaxing even getting up early to start the safari at 530 - one of the best holidays we’ve had - thanks so much to all the staff for making our stay so memorable ❤️

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tai5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Tai5605

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback received from our esteemed guests.

I am delighted to see that you were able to have such a wonderful and relaxing stay with us enjoying the room, the wildlife, the food, the game drives, the facilities (such as the pool and of course our unique feature of the hide).
Lastly we are most delighted that the staff made your stay memorable and we will share the feedback with all of the staff.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa Maritane in the near future.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Wauw what an experience! Having breakfast after a first overwelming safari, I am confronted with a few Zebra's drinking from the pond. The view is astonishing! Ouwtanding lodge facilities. Wonderfull safari experience guided by experienced rangers. A must do when visiting South Africa!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgalli2017, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Ralf W

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is greatly appreciated!

We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us including the game drives and the Zebras drinking at the pond close to the restaurant.

Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back to the lodge very soon.

Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews