We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
397
266
90
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
266
90
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground tunnelsun cityunderground hidegame driveswatering holewater holeboma braaitennis courtsown vehiclethe reservegreat resortdinner buffetherd of elephantsclose proximitybush lodgegame parkspent days
Filter
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently had a company conference at Kwa Maritane. Never before have I met such a gem of a Conference Coordinator as I found in Joyce! She was amazing! And she wasnt the only one! The rooms were terrific, the food was fabulous and the setting great!

Whether its business or pleasure you won't go wrong!

Go, have fun and relax!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

loved this place. It is rustic, in keeping with its surroundings and spread out but rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Good bar and decent restaurant with mainly buffet choices, but on a couple of nights a week, the chefs will do an outdoor barbecue when you can select your own meat or fish and they cook it fresh.Best thing is the close proximity to wildlife, with the fence of the reserve at Pilanesburg literally 50 feet from the accomodation and you regularly see elephant, large antelopes, zebra and baboons from the viewing decks. Saw herd of hippo crossing road one night when returning to hotel. Also as others have said, a close up hide accessed by an underground tunnel where you can get within feet of the animals. Great game drives in the reserve, but as ever the cats are elusive! Another bonus if you are in to it - the star constellations in the night sky were the best i've seen anywhere on a clear night. Very near Sun City and small airport but a good three hour drive from Joburg.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Quiet resort with good facilities. Game drives were provided twice daily and they were very good. The dinner buffet was a bit disappointing and the resort was very quiet in the evening. However a nice place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnIrishView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the kwa maritane just before christmas, we got a deal with dinner, bed and breakfast and a game drive, the hotel offers babysitting services but we didnt want to leave our little one as thought he was too young so asked if my husband could go on the 430pm game dirve and I could do the 530am. They were completly accomodating, we also checked in and hour early and they were fine with that. Hotel, staff and food were lovely and they have highchairs in the restuarant which is rare for Africa! Overall we had a great stay. THe game drive was brilliant of the big 5 we say elephant and rhino up close and lion and leopard from a distance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 82Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We did all enjoy our stay, really nice location, very good national parc, friendly rangers, nice rooms.
We were a bit dissapointed of the service, staff was not always very helpfull, or was difficult to make them smile. Some details were missing, for example, really nice trampoline space for the kids but trampoline was a bit broke which made it rather dangerous. Nice tennis courts but they had only 3 really old balls available...

Room Tip: If you have children ask for rooms downstairs because upstairs terrasse rather dangerous
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AurianeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews