We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 400
US$ 365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Rhino Game Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 382
US$ 362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 634
US$ 530
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lush Private Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 476
US$ 466
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tshukudu Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 751
US$ 613
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ivory Tree Game Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 407
US$ 323
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pilanesberg Private Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Diphororo Guest House(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$ 57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
391
263
89
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
263
89
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground tunnelsun cityunderground hidegame driveswatering holewater holeboma braaitennis courtsthe reservegreat resortdinner buffetherd of elephantsclose proximitybush lodgegame parkspent daysself drive
Filter
Updating list...
635 - 640 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We did all enjoy our stay, really nice location, very good national parc, friendly rangers, nice rooms.
We were a bit dissapointed of the service, staff was not always very helpfull, or was difficult to make them smile. Some details were missing, for example, really nice trampoline space for the kids but trampoline was a bit broke which made it rather dangerous. Nice tennis courts but they had only 3 really old balls available...

Room Tip: If you have children ask for rooms downstairs because upstairs terrasse rather dangerous
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AurianeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Enjoyed our stay. Setting of hotel is very nice in Pilanesburg reserve. Had wonderful game drive in reserve with seeing plenty of game including rhinos and elephants. Rooms nice size, slightly on dark side but clean with lovely bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Service in restaurant needs attention but food variety nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Only 2 ½ hours from Joburg, the Pilanesburg Game Reserve is the closest bush experience to the big city!

On a trip to Johannesburg, we decided to stay a long weekend at the Kwa Maritane bush resort. We bought a 3-day package through Expedia.com, and we paid only for two nights and got one night free, PLUS the package included three breakfasts and three dinners for two guests! It was a great promotion that we could not resist.

The resort is quite lush and pretty, and what a surprise when we drove up to the entrance gate, and there were four elephants browsing the trees near the road (and behind an electrified fence, of course!). We drove to the second gate and our car information was taken, and we were directed to the lodge.

Rooms:
Are well-appointed, and our King room was very comfortable, with a great balcony with views of the bushveld, and several types of animals. Bathrooms are not too big, but offer a bathtub/shower facility. Not complaining!

Meals:
Our meals were taken in the main restaurant, and the food selection was excellent, as well as the quality of the food. The ladies/gentlemen working the restaurants are very sweet and friendly. We also took our lunch here, and the selection of foods was very nice. We also enjoyed dining al fresco and watching the animals.

The Water Hole:
There is a webcam situated at the water hole near the hotel, and one can watch the animals that come in for a drink, in the comfort of your own room... it's on the hotel's television channel! Additionally, there is a long tunnel that takes guests underground, all the way to the waterhole. It was amazing to see the elephants drinking of water from that level!

Game Drives:
We booked three game drives, and we did one drive ourselves. The wildlife here is extensive, and we saw all the big five plus the rare Black Rhino! Our driver was friendly enough, but not terribly excited to be there... our safari vehicle (almost truck-like) was packed on one of the drives. On one morning, it was just the two of us. The drives, are priced reasonably, at around $35 per person for a three-hour ride.

Summary:

Highly recommend this place! It's a great introduction to the wildlife of Africa, as well as the safari experience. Not only will you see the Big Five (if you're lucky), but you will save a lot of money, as this place doesn't cost nearly as much as the lodges near Kruger Park.

Room Tip: For those with limited mobility, ask for rooms closer to the main dining room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank reginafug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I agree with everything that Matt G said about this hotel. We were a group of 32, however, so we did not have the check-in issues (we probably caused them for Matt). What a great place. Our room was a little far from reception, but worth the trek to get there. Beautifully appointed, and very clean. Beds are sooo comfortable, and the bathrooms are lovely. We were in 174, so if you need wifi connection, that is the place to get it (very fast). Other rooms did not have equally good hookup.

We loved the game drive and have to compliment the skill and experience of the 2 drivers for our group, Rolf and Phillip. We went out for 2 days, morning and evening. Always dress warmly in layers, especially for the morning drive, it can be quite cold. Rolf was our driver, and he can tell you the names of every animal, bird, tree and plant. I swear he talks to the animals, which can be especially good if the elephants get too close to the truck. I feel privileged to have had the chance to be here and see the wildlife in their habitat.

After racing around the park, we always returned to a wonderful meal in the restaurant. Food was wonderful, great variety of dishes!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaMapleSyrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Check in was simple and fast, the only downside was the amount of people checking in at the same time which is hardly their fault but the vehicle congestion at reception was not good, we had to wait for 15 to 20 minutes for people to move their cars before we could go park and find our room.

Security here is very tight getting on and off site but thats for everyones comfort and safety, a necessary evil but conducted with dignity and consideration.

The rooms was excellent, large and comfortable with a sitting room area. Well appointed and furnished and above all else very clean. I had a ground floor room with a patio outside which was great to sit an take coffee on in the mornings as the sun came up.

The track to some of the rooms can be a little longer than some would like especially if they have mobility issues but believe me when I tell you it is well worth it once you get to the room.

The restaurant is first class, a mix of local, national and international dishes superbly cooked and always hot, I have nothing but praise for the chef and his / her staff. Breakfast is buffet style (as was dinner), which posed no problem to me.

The reserve that the hotel sits within is fantastic, I opted to drive my hired 4x4 around rather than take the inclusive game drive. I saw virtually every one of the big 5 with the exception of the leopards but was stunned by the beauty of the reserve. I took 5 hours in the reserve and over 300 pictures - it was absolutely stunning.

In summary, you can stay here whether you are on business or vacation (holiday) and it will always be a pleasure.

While I was there a troop of baboons came into the complex from the reserve, an amusing experience especially when a rather arrogant tourist refused to close his patin door when asked by the rangers, the big male baboon found the open door, wrecked the room and emerged with a pepper in it's mouth and a box of biscuits under his arm, it was hilarious and poetic justice for ignoring the ranger.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews