We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three nights, six game drives, large air conditioned bungalow, three meals a day, afternoon tea and early morning tea/coffee plus rusks on morning game drives and sundowners on evening ones. What more could you ask for? Phillip was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge not just about animals but bird life, vegetation, flora and fauna. Game sightings were excellent, but as with all game drives animals do not appear to order. The only downside was that I ate too much and left the lodge heavier than I arrived - but that is my fault!

Room Tip: For a quiet night try for a room furthest away from the reception to avoid late night returnee noise...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Robert J -
Thank you for your very warm and positive review of Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of yoru stay, and our apologies if the food was a little too good!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I couldn’t fault my visit to Black Rhino Game Lodge and would highly recommend it.
I was only there for one night but thoroughly enjoyed the peace, relaxation and hospitality.
Included was lunch on the day of arrival, sweet and savoury nibbles before the “sunset” game drive, evening meal, “dawn” (yes, that early - mine started before 5am) game drive and breakfast. Hot drinks are always available (in the lounge/dining area as well as a tray in the room) and bottled water is in plentiful supply in the room. There is a charge for other beverages (but these are very reasonably priced).
The rooms are in individual lodges which are well equipped, comfortable and quiet.
There are three small pools within the lodge grounds.
The food is served buffet style. There is a good selection and very tasty.
The water hole was a lovely surprise and attracted lots of animals, so plenty of wildlife was spotted (lots more on the game drives) even on a short stay.
I would definitely return if I ever have the opportunity.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alistair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alistair T -
Thank you for posting your review of your time at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your Black Rhino experience, and we hope you will find the opportunity to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for three nights and enjoyed 6 game drives

The place was great. Huge bungalow very clean. Air condition and the possibility to make my own coffee or tea was great.

The restaurant offered really good food with a great variety.

Our ranger Dian was awesome. Experiences funny and always did his best to make the drives exciting.

We have the time of our lives ☺️

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank greekdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear greekdiver -
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Black Rhino in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had found the lodge on Bush Breaks but had also a friend recommending the lodge to us so it made sense for us to book. We are so glad we chose to stay three nights, not only for the sheer luxury but also for the amazing drives encountered each day!

As soon as we pulled up to the intimate lodge we were greeted and shown around the communal parts of the lodge, including zedbras drinking from the watering hole opposite the restaurant!

Our room.was stunning, there was plenty of space compared to other lodges we have stayed at! We loved the outside shower and the comfort of the room overall.

You will never go hungry at the lodge, there is plenty of delicious food on offer all of which differs meal to meal, day to day. The bar is always open and have a wide range of soft/alcoholic drinks avaiable all at a very reasonable price.

ALL of the waiting staff were superb, they made the time spent at the lodge so lovely and welcoming! Nothing was too much trouble, including making my very own stunning birthday cake!

Finally, the drives were like no other drives we have encountered. Once you have got your head around a 0445 wake up alarm for the morning drive you experience the most wonderful sights and animals including a pack of hunting lions!! The jeeps are initimate with a maximum of 9 persons. Both drivers we had were so very knowlegable and made both evening and morning drives a pleasure to be on!

Will we ever go back, OF COURSE!!! By any stretch this place is worthy of so much more than 5 stars and is worth every penny!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Charlotte B -
Thank you for your very warm and positive review of your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and especially that you're already planning to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent 3 days here in Pilanesberg with game drives at sunrise and early evening. The lodges were well equipped and comfortable and you could see some wildlife from the large windows Plenty of.good food, really nice friendly staff all made this a good stay. Lots of white rhinos and their young, elephants, giraffes and others, and on last day a lioness walking round our jeep. Fantastic

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Viv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Viv P -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
21.4 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
842 reviews
25.1 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
695 reviews
22.6 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#4 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
817 reviews
15.2 km away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
571 reviews
0.3 km away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rhino Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rhino Game Lodge

Address: Road R565, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: ₹ 21,290 - ₹ 33,419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rhino Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rhino Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rhino Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing