We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
295
136
18
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
136
18
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge watering hole double shower cheetah brothers morning drive rooms are huge outdoor shower elephants coming private concession wild dogs high tea main park amazing sightings south africa special thanks fantastic stay animals including
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

I couldn’t fault my visit to Black Rhino Game Lodge and would highly recommend it.
I was only there for one night but thoroughly enjoyed the peace, relaxation and hospitality.
Included was lunch on the day of arrival, sweet and savoury nibbles before the “sunset” game drive, evening meal, “dawn” (yes, that early - mine started before 5am) game drive and breakfast. Hot drinks are always available (in the lounge/dining area as well as a tray in the room) and bottled water is in plentiful supply in the room. There is a charge for other beverages (but these are very reasonably priced).
The rooms are in individual lodges which are well equipped, comfortable and quiet.
There are three small pools within the lodge grounds.
The food is served buffet style. There is a good selection and very tasty.
The water hole was a lovely surprise and attracted lots of animals, so plenty of wildlife was spotted (lots more on the game drives) even on a short stay.
I would definitely return if I ever have the opportunity.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank alistairt1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Alistair T -
Thank you for posting your review of your time at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your Black Rhino experience, and we hope you will find the opportunity to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for three nights and enjoyed 6 game drives

The place was great. Huge bungalow very clean. Air condition and the possibility to make my own coffee or tea was great.

The restaurant offered really good food with a great variety.

Our ranger Dian was awesome. Experiences funny and always did his best to make the drives exciting.

We have the time of our lives ☺️

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller-Maimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear greekdiver -
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Black Rhino in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We had found the lodge on Bush Breaks but had also a friend recommending the lodge to us so it made sense for us to book. We are so glad we chose to stay three nights, not only for the sheer luxury but also for the amazing drives encountered each day!

As soon as we pulled up to the intimate lodge we were greeted and shown around the communal parts of the lodge, including zedbras drinking from the watering hole opposite the restaurant!

Our room.was stunning, there was plenty of space compared to other lodges we have stayed at! We loved the outside shower and the comfort of the room overall.

You will never go hungry at the lodge, there is plenty of delicious food on offer all of which differs meal to meal, day to day. The bar is always open and have a wide range of soft/alcoholic drinks avaiable all at a very reasonable price.

ALL of the waiting staff were superb, they made the time spent at the lodge so lovely and welcoming! Nothing was too much trouble, including making my very own stunning birthday cake!

Finally, the drives were like no other drives we have encountered. Once you have got your head around a 0445 wake up alarm for the morning drive you experience the most wonderful sights and animals including a pack of hunting lions!! The jeeps are initimate with a maximum of 9 persons. Both drivers we had were so very knowlegable and made both evening and morning drives a pleasure to be on!

Will we ever go back, OF COURSE!!! By any stretch this place is worthy of so much more than 5 stars and is worth every penny!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank charlottebI9352WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Charlotte B -
Thank you for your very warm and positive review of your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and especially that you're already planning to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Spent 3 days here in Pilanesberg with game drives at sunrise and early evening. The lodges were well equipped and comfortable and you could see some wildlife from the large windows Plenty of.good food, really nice friendly staff all made this a good stay. Lots of white rhinos and their young, elephants, giraffes and others, and on last day a lioness walking round our jeep. Fantastic

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Viv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Viv P -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Back from this superb wonderful lodge 2 weeks ago travelling with Titan Tours

The Black Rhino game lodge exceeded all our expectations on every level. The lodges were rustic and very comfortable with all modern amenities. the food was outstanding each day, breakfast was fresh and plenty of it considering the staff never new what time we would arrive after our morning game drives.
The evening meal was always well presented and plenty of choice, the Wed nite BBQ was fabulous.
The staff were truly amazing, very attentive and clearly loved they jobs. Michelle the manager was so very kind and accommodating, my husband and i were given a beautiful lodge (number 9) we were celebrating our wedding anniversary which was decorated with rose petals and candles also leaving champagne, very touching thank you.
The game drives were brilliant our driver and ranger Dian was very knowledgeable we had over 30 sightings of Rhino (my favorite animal). we saw Lions, Elephant, Buffalo, Hyena, Monkey, Giraffe and so much more. Our evening game drives were also unforgettable Thank you Dian.
I cannot fault with lodge and staff, would love to return again one day.
Thank you Michelle and your wonderful staff

Room Tip: All the lodges were great location
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julieandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear julieandrews -
Thank you for your extremely warm and positive review of Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that the Black Rhino team took such good care of you. We very much hope that you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews