We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Experience”
other traveller has booked this property
This is the first farmhouse that was built in the 1830s on the farm Osfontein,a unique experience!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is the first farmhouse that was built in the 1830s on the farm Osfontein,a unique experience!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This is the first farmhouse that was built in the 1830s on the farm Osfontein,a unique experience!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Northern Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RobKinman
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Osfontein Corbelled Cottage provides a truly authentic experience, while not sacrificing too many of the 21st century's creature comforts.
From the warm welcome of the owners and their wonderful border collies, until regretfully leaving two days later, we enjoyed the magnificence of the Great Karoo landscape and the awesome sunsets. Frequent visits from the collies and farmyard chickens enhanced the experience.
We left Osfontein feeling totally rejuvenated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Attention to authentic detail
Liked least: Shower temperature was a bit erratic, but we coped :-)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61Riana
Kroonstad, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bucketlist ticked”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

It was a longtime goal to stay over at a corbelled house. These tipe of houses are only located in a certain part of the Karoo and more or less 200 years old. Was built with stones and no timber at all. We felt so peacefull and relaxed and the inside was cool on a hot summers day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you very much,we appreciate that our guests enjoy it to stay in a part of our Karoo history and we love to share it.
Friendly Karoo Greetings,
Stegmann and Natasha Lubbe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelAdd...
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent stop-over en-route to Cape Town”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Wanting to make a nice stop-over on our way down south, we decided on Carnarvon in the Bo-Karoo. We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the surroundings, enhanced by the hospitality of Stegmann and Natasha. The farm has 3 units available: Tree House (suited for Honeymooners), Kliphuisie (a converted stone-built sheep-shed) and the 200+ year old Korbeel-huisie (stone cottage with domed stone roof). We chose the latter, as to experience a leap back into history, and it was a truly amazing experience! Although electricity is supplied for the fridge, kettle and cellphone/laptop/notebook chargers, lightning is only available in candle-power. The renowned Karoo-lambchops is available for purchase at competitive prices, as is firewood. Wintertime is also snowtime. Their rates are a notch higher than in-town accommodation, but it is worth every Rand. Well done, Stegman and Natasha!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The primitive atmosphere
Liked least: Short stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene...
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hospitality at it's best”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We arrived and were heartily welcomed by Stegman and Natasha who own the farm and were invited in for coffee where they told us about the history of the corbelled houses and how they went about restoring theirs. They have wood available for sale and the most delicious karoo lamb chops to braai. The house was clean, beautifully restored and adequately furnished. It was quiet, peaceful and the stars in the Karoo are not to be missed. Unfortunately we only stayed one day and another day would have given us the opportunity to explore the farm and the tranquility of the Karoo. Very special experience and very special people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Tranquility and hospitality.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West
Reviewed 4 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing