We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WERE ROBBED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
212 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“WE WERE ROBBED”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Our tour group with SMARTOURS was robbed while at dinner. 4 rooms had jammed safes, they took cameras, cell phones, credit card receipts and jewelry.......Don't feel too protected as it was an inside job and 2 security guards were arrested. The 'turn-down' maid goes in the front door and unlocks the back door and leaves the curtains open..

Room Tip: there are no safe rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,

As per our communication in the recent week, we are extremely glad to hear that we have been able to restore confidence in the management at the hotel as well as the hospitality offered by the Protea hotel group.

Thanks to all parties involved (you and your tour group, hotel management, Protea management and SmartTours) we have been able to adequately react to the incident, implement immediate management action and resolve the matter to your satisfaction.

Again, our sincere apologies for the negative experience while visiting our beautiful country. And we are thrilled to hear it does not distract you from paying us a return visit in the next year.

Looking forward to welcoming you in 2013!

Yours faithfully,

Charmaine Kotze – General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    91
    51
    15
    17
See reviews for
58
73
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Up North, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Our room was robbed while we were eating dinner in their restaurant. Money and camera were stolen. Others in our tour group experienced the same.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burmesterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Mr and Ms Burmester,

On behalf of the entire team at Protea Hotel The Winkler, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you by the room theft experienced while staying with us. I can assure you that the incident is certainly not reflective of the levels of safety and security we strive to offer to every single guest of our hotel, nor is it a true reflection of the genuine hospitality offered by the people of Mpumalanga South Africa.

We regard this incident in a serious light, and assure you that the incident is currently carefully investigated by local authorities and senior management at the hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Charmaine Kotze – General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these White River hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I loved this hotel for the most part. The grounds, lobby, pool, etc were wonderful....very peaceful. The rooms were good, nothing special but very adequate. Some minor problems. While the internet is free, you have to use it the lobby/bar area and it is VERY slow. Had trouble with hot water in the shower. It took forever to warm up and the water pressure was very light. I was not impressed with the buffet dinner but I don't normal like buffets anyway. My minor problem are VERY minor so don't let them influence you not to stay here as this is still a very nice hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Hi Chris,

Great comments from such an experienced TripAdvisor reviewer! Much appreciated...

Apologies for the lack of sufficient water pressure during your stay. This issue has already been discussed with the maintenance team and addressed accordingly. I am also glad to inform you that we are in the process of an extensive menu and buffet service revamp, in order to continue to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Looking forward hosting you again upon your next trip to the Lowveld, one of the amazing parts of lovely South Africa...

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Hotel grounds are lovely (small terrace area off patio door of rooms) and kids well catered for both in terms of food and facilities. Nice bar snacks / area. Comfortable room with all you need for a one night stop en route to Kruger. Park the car opposite entrance to room so easy to unlaod luggage etc. Reception very friendly and efficient. Decent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCBLEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for the kind recommendations and your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us while enjoying the Kruger Park area. I will definitely pass on your detailed review to all team members involved. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

12 adults and 2 children stayed here for just one night, and we wished we could have stayed longer, this hotel was just fantastic from start to finish. The check-in was seamless, quick and efficient, the rooms are large and beautifully decorated, either with a king bed, or a queen and single bed for the family rooms. The pool area is large and overlooks the forrest as well as the childrens play area. There is also a games room for children for those rainy days or in the evenings. The restuarant was just brilliant for dinner, prices were really good for a hotel, each main meal +/ R 70.00, we were there on a day of A'lacarte meals, and not the buffett so I cannot comment on that. Everyone absolutely loved there stay, and I would highly recommend it to all that want a great place to stop over before or after the Kruger etc.

Room Tip: We were in room 130, and it was very large and spacious with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Fantastic review! We thank you for your kind words and are thrilled to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

See you back soon at Protea Hotel The Winkler!

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
6.2 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
203 reviews
26.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
3.9 km away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
174 reviews
33.1 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
17.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Property: Premier Hotel The Winkler
Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,395 - ₹ 9,302
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing