We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“umSisi Cottage adjoining umSisi |House”
Review of umSisi House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
umSisi House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2017

If you want a bit of heaven on earth umSisi Cottage is the place to stay. Minutes away from Kruger National Park the cottage is set in the hills and the views from the 40' terrace are exceptional. The beautiful cottage together with the adjoining Lodge is owned by the delightful eco friendly Paddy and Amanda who look after ones every interest. The cottage is serviced daily, the braai is cleaned and the laundry is dealt with. No one could find a more perfect place to stay if your wish is to game view in the park or just relax in a perfect climate.

Room Tip: This review relates to a self contained cottage not an hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randles2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review; we are thrilled for the lovely feedback! We do hope that you return again to our beautiful part of the world!

Warmest regards from The umSisi House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

I am a lover of fine finishes and and the smaller details. The experiences with Amanda and Paddy covered the big to the small. From having a beautifully designed and decorated home/ cottage - which reminds me of an upmarket beach cottage with all the tasteful personal flair, to the fruit basket and the homegrown coffee that we had with Amanda and Paddy after having an AMAZING dinner.

Our days were lazy due to finishing a long work cycle, we relaxed by the pool and went on a beautiful hike. However, if you are looking more adventure , umSisi is close to many activities.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rebeccaachristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review...we are thrilled by the wonderful feedback! So glad you really took some time out to sit back and relax here.. its really the best place for it! Hoping to host you again here in the not too distant future.

The umSisi House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at Umsisi Cottage, I must admit I thought that it couldn't get any better (My partner and I had such a fabulous time in 2016).

I decided to bring a friend for a short time we had off work, well what an incredible experience!

The cottage is lovely, it's the most upmarket cottage that I have ever stayed in. Something I particularly love is the welcome note you receive upon arrival.

The house keepers and the gardeners are super friendly and always up for a chat! Amanda and Paddy are lovely! Their hilarious tales through Africa will keep you laughing until the early hours of the morning!

I highly recommend the Cottage and the House! It's so close to Numbi Gate if you want to pop into Kruger and the hikes around the property offer some exquisite view points.

Do ask Paddy to take you around and show you his home grown veggie gardens as well as the worm farm, it's very interesting!

Thank you again for a wonderful time! I'll be back soon!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled you keep coming back to this beautiful part of the country! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future..

The umSisi House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Marvellous stay at Umsisi at the end of December 2016. The house is beautiful, the people are lovely and the food delicious. Umsisi is an important address in South Africa, not to be missed. You must visit the Kruger Park nearby and the Panorama route.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world! Thank you for the lovely review! We look forward to hosting you here next time with your children and grand children..

Warm regards from Mpumalanga.

The umSisi House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Awesome stay during the Christmas break with lovely people who were nice and kind.

Great cooking. Not a day went pass without some great meal. From great meat to great salads

Definitely would stay again

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Coen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabond007, Owner at umSisi House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

So please you enjoyed everything about your stay at umSisi House, even the Hot Toddies! We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review, we really do appreciate the positive feedback!

All the very best for 2017.

The umSisi House Team ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
13.6 km away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 37 in White River
339 reviews
10.8 km away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
304 reviews
9.2 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 9 in White River
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in White River
201 reviews
9.9 km away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#2 of 9 in White River
358 reviews
12.6 km away
Near2Numbi
Near2Numbi
#6 of 20 in White River
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to umSisi House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about umSisi House

Address: Peebles Road | Farm D2, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in White River
Price Range: ₹ 4,925 - ₹ 36,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — umSisi House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 60 hectares of pristine bush, umSisi House is strategically located between the town of White River and the Numbi Gate entrance to the southern Kruger Park (20 minutes away). We offer a personal service that only a very small, privately owned and managed, five-star, luxury country house villa and gourmet getaway can provide. umSisi House is the perfect destination for groups of friends and family wishing to visit South Africa’s Kruger Lowveld region, the Panorama Route and enjoy the many adventure activities available in the immediate area. The house only caters for private groups on either (a) a dinner, bed and breakfast basis,(b) a full board (all inclusive) basis or a self-catering basis (maximum 6 guests). A booking service for local activities (including bespoke Kruger safaris in open game-viewers) is also provided. All meals are planned with guests in advance to ensure that the dining experience is a daily highlight. TGCSA 5-Star Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your umSisi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing