We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
411
254
50
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
411
254
50
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room heated pool pizza wild animals game reserve amazing views great family excellent resort get away recommend this resort an amazing experience self catering family and friends city life god's window serviced daily pilgrims rest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crystal Springs. The staff were friendly and felt like we were coming home . the chalet itself was ultra tidy and nice but the view was amazing, having your coffee while looking at the mist on the hills was beautiful. you wont regret going here plus it is close to quite a few of the small towns

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank octliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi octliz.

Wow - thank you for the fantastic review! We are elated to hear that you had such an incredible Honeymoon at Crystal Springs; soaking up the breath-taking landscape and appreciating the natural environment. Thank you for the compliments regarding our Units and staff; we especially like reading about the fact that you found the Chalet to be immaculate. We are delighted that you made use of the Resorts strategic location and enjoyed visiting the sites in the Panorama Route. We look forward to your next arrival in the near future!

Kind Regards – The Crystal Springs Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

We had an awesome time
The units were user friendly and clean
The service excellent
The restaurant awesome and great food
Amenities was clean and user friendly
Our game drive was very relaxing
Will recommend this resort anytime

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martiel2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi martiel2018.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are elated to hear that you had such a fantastic time on the Lodge; enjoying a game drive on the property and a delicious meal at Le Fera Restaurant. Thank you for the compliments regarding our staff and hospitality; our team works hard to ensure our guests have the best possible stay and it is wonderful to know we are delivering on those intentions. We hope you will return sooner rather than later.

Kind Regards - The Crystal Springs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2021 via mobile

I cannot recommend this resort enough. So clean, efficient and very covid compliant. Super friendly staff. Awesome dinners at restuarant..best oxtail ever. Beautiful gamedrive ..our guide (Sya) was so friendly and exceptionally knowledgeable. Will def go again!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank KH0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi KH0801.

Wow - thank you for the lovely recount of your stay at Crystal Springs! Thank you for your compliments regarding the Team's hospitality and about Le Fera Restaurant; our dedicated team works hard to ensure our guests receive the best possible service and it is lovely to know that we are delivering on those intentions. We also appreciate the mention with regards to our COVID-19 health and safety protocols as we work to ensure a safe holiday environment for all. We look forward to your return!

Kind Regards - The Crystal Springs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2020 via mobile

We booked a weekend timeshare stay at this resort. It takes a great deal of energy and passion to make the effort to go to this resort. The roads to get there once you have left the highway are full of potholes, the size that will swallow your whole car irrespective of whether it is a 4x4 vehicle or a normal vehicle, so that is the sacrifice that one makes to get to see this remarkably beautiful part of the world.

Check in was a horrific experience to put it mildly. 400 plus people were arriving at this resort on this day. The weather was miserable as it has rained non stop rather heavily from the moment we left Johannesburg. We had been contacted by the resort the day before the check in and were told in no uncertain terms that check in was at from 4pm. We specifically asked whether we had to fill in any forms and would prefer to do that before we got there and were told no forms were needed to be filled in other than the guest registration form used around the world.Upon arrival at 5pm , sat in massive queues in the car as we had to fill out many forms related to Covid 19 which could easily have been emailed to us prior to check in. Each car was given these many forms to fill in at the gate. Took an hour to get into the gate as cars were packed to capacity requiring all these forms to be filled in per person hence massive queues on a dirt road with heavy rain.Again no planning on how to ensure your guests have a terrific arrival experience after having driven for at least 4 hours, some 5 hours to get there with screaming children, hungry children, etc. Then at reception, another queue to pick up keys, note very SMALL reception area ( could have planned multiple reception areas as conference rooms lying empty, put up a small marquee to help with the large numbers), no apology about the massive queues , no polite engagement by management to say we are sorry , other people having issues with their villas , again those that had issues should have immediately been taken to another part of the reception area and dealt with separately rather than hold up the queue. Again no management visible to placate guests show leadership deal with the check in crisis, display confidence. Stood in this queue for another 30 mins. Took 1 hour and 40 mins from arrival at the gate to arrive at our villa.

Variety of villas on the complex but most are semidetached so you share one building with another villa. Noise is a massive factor as you can hear the loud TV next door and if your next door neighbours are naturally loudly spoken people you can clearly hear them in your villa so that ruins your secluded holiday immediately for the duration of your stay. I promise you there are 100’s of other resorts that are available around the country that don’t have this problem.

Monkeys are aggressive when you sit on your patio and are prepared to challenge you all the time when you want to braai outside but eat inside. Again nothing relaxing about this. There are many options to resolve this but none considered by management except to say don’t feed the monkeys and have put a lot of gates to prevent access into the villas.

Again - cleaning services are limited and the excuse is the pandemic. When I go on holiday I expect my room to be cleaned daily and if need be my towels to be cleaned daily. This is a cost cutting exercise rather than a Covid measure to prevent touch and transmission. All major hotel groups around the world still clean rooms daily unless the guest does not want the cleaning service.

400 plus guests on complex but again reception times are limited for assistance and management are not even remotely visible or make an attempt to engage with guests. Again a cost cutting exercise but the resort is at its maximum capacity as per the current regulations hence all services should be open and functioning.

Check out time is strictly 10am. Arrive as late as possible for your holiday but leave as early as possible and use Covid cleaning procedures as the excuse.

I wanted to leave early as I had a family emergency but had to wait until reception opened at 7.30am to wait for my chalet to be checked for any breakages and then I would get my R500 cash deposit back. I couldn’t wait so I now have to wait until 4th January to get my money back because their head office handles the refunds and not the unit. Again could have taken a credit card hold and then cancelled it but that is too much admin, rather inconvenience the guest.

Villas were comfortable, served their purpose.
From the car park to the villa is a distance so be aware of this when you arrive in the rain or depart in the rain as loading or unloading your car will be a challenge.

Will never go back to this resort because of its complete lack of planning around providing the best customer experience from check in to check out and going that extra mile with personalized service. Management attitude, presence, lack of sight let alone engagement meant to ensure guest happiness is not even remotely available.

Avoid this resort at all costs.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JPadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Hi JPadman.

Thank you for your review. Crystal Springs strives to create a home-away-from-home experience and we take to heart all comments on how we can improve on our guests’ overall experience. Please be assured that your feedback regarding your booking and experience at the Lodge has been noted and passed on to the relevant parties; management has informed us that they will look into it. Please contact management on leonm@crystalsprings.co.za in order for them to fully investigate the points brought forward in your review. Thank you.

Kind Regards – The Crystal Springs Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2020

Everything that you could wish for is catered for. From being provided with a hairdryer to a pack of wood for each night that you stay there. Got to see Zebra, Jackal and Bushbuck right outside my chalet.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Camper09354345272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2020

Hi Camper09354345272.

Thank you for the 5/5 review and compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Crystal Springs and are so pleased to hear that you loved the ample game-viewing opportunities. Thank you for the compliments with regards to the amenities inside the Chalet. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards – The Crystal Springs Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews