We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jane Goodall Chimpanzee Eden Sanctuary
Save
5 Days Tanzania Birding Safari
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
$4,000.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Jane Goodall Chimpanzee Eden Sanctuary
from $4,000.00
More Info
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
188
113
25
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
113
25
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop safe haven their lives well worth a visit beautiful animals chimps rescue stories abuse guide amari heartbreaking institute kruger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2020

When we notified the operator during the booking call that we would all be wearing masks except for our autistic three-year-old who can't tolerate face covering, we were told we could not visit. As he did not have a cold or show any symptoms and we could not possibly leave him behind, we were more than willing to comply with all standard check-in precautions including temperature checks, sanitizing and keeping a safe distance but sadly we had to cancel our booking because of a pathetic lack of inclusivity. We appreciate that the chimps health must come first but there are ways to ensure adequate safety measures without seeming insensitive to the plight of those who are differently-abled.

Date of experience: November 2020
1  Thank WanguiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

We left a part of our hearts at the sanctuary and gain med so much food for thought and warmth for the soul by witnessing the good that people can do when they are caring and passionate. Please visit and support this cause. Our children still talk about the Chimpanzees we encountered and what a wonderful and important thing it is for them to be rescued and safe.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Leedinresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

This was a really excellent day out. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. We can really recommend it. Prices are very reasonable

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Stevebr1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 February 2020

The staff have individual attention and care for each chimp - know all their stories (which are horrific and harrowing). The tour is well worth it and spending some cash in the cafe/shop is a good way of injecting some contribution to the sanctuary which does not have state funding (most chimps come from central african countries).

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank MokeLovesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

This place is a really good new home for not longer needed shimpazis!
We heard sad stories about their former life, most of them where used only as an attraction... costumers gave them Zigarettes and alcohol and treated them bad!
In chimpz Eden they can enjoy living in harmony!
For everything you buy at the store the staff can buy food and medizine for the apes!
A good Institution, only 18 km away from nelspruit!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank hofbauer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews