We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$80
View deal
Expedia.com$233
Hotels.com$232
Priceline$86
Travelocity$232
Orbitz.com$232
eDreams$80
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
682
502
144
56
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
682
502
144
56
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant whispers the river double shower kruger national park tour group stayed here for nights thatched roof phabeni gate elephants safari ephraim chalet accommodation garden sabi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2022

My sister and I came here for her birthday breakfast. The service was absolutely stunning. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast is delicious. I’m definitely coming back here with the entire family.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ammfoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2022

Following our journey from the UK, Hippo Hollow was the perfect place to relax and use as a base for our Safari outings with Phabeni Gate providing good access to Kruger park.

We had a beautiful lodge with a view over the Sabie River; we loved the authentic style of our accommodation. The decking area at the rear is just incredible! On the edge of the river, you can sit there anytime night and day and just watch the wildlife come down to the river, we saw Hippos, Elephants and a lot of birds.

The dining experience at the restaurant was superb, the meals were very good.

The whole Hippo Hollow team were super friendly and helpful. We hope to come back.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardbV5369IP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

Located only 15 minutes from the Phabenj Gate of Kruger Park, this hotel is a great solution to visit the National Park.
Meals are very good and the terrace where are served has a great view. The rooms are spacious and warm. Ask for a river view room and try to arrive for the sunset!

Room tip: Room with river view
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SeekerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 June 2022 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a family trip. The hotel is beautiful and I really enjoyed relaxing at the pool area. The wifi is only in public areas which I found out of the usual compared to other hotels we stayed at. We also had an issue where the shower water wouldn’t turn off, but staff was quick to move us to a new room. I was disappointed that the bar and restaurant were closed during our stay, and we were told by staff that the hotel is more for groups than solo travelers. However, staff offered us rides to and from a nearby restaurant for meals for a small charge. The room was a unique thatched roof hut which was fun. It was not a bad experience and would be 4 stars, but was slightly lacking compared to the other hotels I stayed at in SA.

Room tip: Wifi is only in common areas, restaurant and bar closed when hotel is not busy
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anne C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 June 2022

Absolutely loved every minute of our stay.
Surprised by the beautiful chalet we had. I was not expecting a stand alone chalet, very private.
The other surprise was the wonderful view from the balcony over the Sabi river, where 2 hippos strolled by. Elephants from the camp opposite came down along the river with their mahouts
Was a perfect position only an hour from Kruger where we were heading
The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and kind. Went the extra mile
The room had a comfortable ultra king-size bed
the bathroom was big with a double shower
there was a fridge, very useful as we had provisions we were taking to Kruger. A mini kitchenette added to the comfort.
there was a loft room with extra beds and further views

Room tip: ask for a chalet that over looks the Sabi river
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews