We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$162
Priceline$170
Travelocity$158
Orbitz.com$158
eDreams$162
ZenHotels.com$170
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
749
509
133
48
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
749
509
133
48
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course hippo pool kruger national park close proximity whole family beautiful grounds phabeni gate sabi timeshare hippos pools golfers squash tennis units river loft
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2022

We stayed 2 nights ,en route to Mala Mala game reserve. The resort caters in all your needs. The resort gardens and surrounding golf course on the resort, is so beautiful, that it makes you want to stay another night. The food is of a very good standard and the staff very friendly and helpful. The resort cant be faulted.
The golf course is a must to play course. Not difficult with well manicured fairways and water features all over. The greens, needs attention, as they are not up to standard and very uneven with patches all over.
Overall a very nice resort .

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konrad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 May 2022

I've been to many hotels but this hotel's pool entertainment is the best - fun games/quiz for the whole family to participate and also to interact with other guests. The staff in general provided good services, but Prince was excellent and Miranda did a great job when we checked out. We will certainly return. The buffet however can improve.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ree732
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 April 2022

This resort reminded me of a quaint, boutique style hotel that is made for relaxation! I LOVED my stay! My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was helpful, friendly as well as professional. We had a nice view and enjoyed the hippo sightings.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 January 2022 via mobile

Not the most pleasant place to stay. We had a loft chalet, and the heat in the loft area was absolutely unbearable. There are two fans in the loft space (one which was broken), but it created more noise than cool air. Sleeping there was practically impossible. Also be warned that the chalets have thatched roofs, which means lots of bugs! The amount of critters that we had to swat away…
Also, the cleaning service was not up to par — basically it was just surface level cleaning, nothing beyond a wipe down. We asked them to clean spider webs multiple times and got ignored (we got our own cleaning supplies in the end). Wet dishes were packed in the cupboards and smelled funny… I expected much more, cleanliness during C-19 times is non-negotiable.

Also be warned the whole resort is a golf course, so you can’t go for a walk without having to look out for flying balls. Extremely inconvenient when you have small kids to look out for.

The hippo pool was cool though.

Room tip: Thatched roof, which means lots of bugs and heat. Whole resort is a golf courses, be careful where you walk.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank estebeerwinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SabiRiverSunResort Tsogo Sun, General Manager at Sabi River Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2022

Dear estebeerwinkel,
We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We are really proud of the great work done by our House Keeping Team and your feedback has already been addressed by them so as to ensure that we stick to our high standards.
We truly appreciate the feedback as it allows us to address any shortcomings that may have occurred.
Please stay safe and healthy.
Best regards
Sabi River Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

Certainly a beautifully set place with tons of entertainment on the resort. An ideal place for a family with tons of pools and many activities. Its awesome getting to watch the hippos and the close proximity to the phabeni gate. The staff are friendly and accommodating, i travelled with a boisterous 9 month old, the restaurant were so accommodating with sterilizing of bottles etc.

I do feel there is room for an upgrade in the hotel rooms and the bathrooms can be redone but this is a tiny factor and partly my fault as i could have booked at a chalet. the rooms are immaculately clean, the bedding is soft and fresh and the air conditioner works more than efficiently.

Close to malls for food if you want to not eat in.

The poolside is fabulous and are all the staff. Support local and go on holiday to sabi even if you do not wish to go out anywhere.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ayesha_rsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SabiRiverSunResort Tsogo Sun, General Manager at Sabi River Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2022

Dear Ayesha,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We do hope you return in the near future
Best regards
Sabi River Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews